IGNORED

Going To Try Running The Black Pyramid On a Battery Inverter, What Could Possibly Go Wrong?

Autosteve

Question

I've been running this machine only on a generator for the last 3 years and had no problems so why not try an inverter running off batteries?

I'm thinking maybe the inverter soft start feature might cause issues but then again, maybe not.

The inverter isn't grounded but neither is the generator, should they be?.

Inverter is only going to output 220vAC. Should I high tap the transformer?.

Inverter is a modified sine wave type. Is that going to be a problem?.

11 answers to this question

How many watts is the inverter rated for ?

compared to how many watts the Pin draws ?

you may need to use a watt meter to check the draw from the pin it should record the initial rush on boot then settle 

if its to much for the inverter you could look at installing a super cap on the 12v side of the inverter to boost the initial inrush 

• Like 1

I have 1000, 1600 and 2000 watt inverters I could use.

The Bally diagram only has 120 volt wiring that features a 3amp SB fuse as the inline fuse which makes it a little hard to say exactly what the inrush wattage would be but being 3amp @120 volts would indicate the machine only needs 360watts once the inrush has pasted and the machine is running.

Other than that I have no idea exactly how many watts the inverter would need to be

Posted (edited)

Might be a case of a handful of fast blow fuses and go one amp higher till it doesn't blow on startup to find out exactly how many watts is required for the inrush. Just not sure how the softstart feature on the inverters will handle that inrush current though.

Edited by Autosteve

Posted (edited)

I dont think you will blow anything up. If the inverter cannot handle it , it will usually just shut down. I play pinball all of the time using an inverter 2000w.  sometimes several machines are on without probs. EM, s included