IGNORED

Homebrew TNA inspired build (first time build)

This year I built my first pinball machine and I thought I'd share my experience. If you've been thinking about building your own pin and not sure whether you have the skills to get it done, I'm writing this for you. Seeing other people's builds helped motivate me to get started, so hopefully I can do the same for somebody else.

Deciding to start (December 2017)

I've always wanted to build my own pin, but I hesitated for years due to seeing comments and forum threads saying that it takes multiple years and you shouldn't even try unless you have extensive experience in repairing machines.

I'm not an engineer, I don't own any pins and I knew very little about electronics and programming before I started this project. So the idea that I would one day build my own pin always felt like a pipe-dream.

This year I decided to just do it and see what happens. Worst case, I would have a lot of parts to sell on eBay and lose some money.

I'm an impatient person so I didn't like the idea of working on this project for multiple years. A mate of mine has been restoring a car for over 10 years and I don't see him finishing in the next ten years. I don't have that kind of patience.

Some people recommend buying a beat up pin and retheme it as a way to learn and 'build' a pin at the same time. That's definitely a smart approach, but I wanted the full experience of building a pin from sheets of plywood and parts.

So I took the plunge and ordered some parts for the lower third mechanisms along with FAST hardware. I set myself a big goal to have a complete pin built within six months (see Parkinson's Law for why I set such a tight deadline for myself).

Layout

With such a tight deadline to build my pin, I settled on a middle-ground between re-themeing a pin and building one completely from scratch. I'd start with a pin layout I liked, then modify the layout with any changes I preferred over the original.