IGNORED

What's the best system?

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

This is quite a broad subject.

I think you should start with "What are the requirements?"

ie. How many IO lines are you going to need for output, Input/feedback?

And the next thing to look at is "How fast does this need to do IO?"

I have no idea about the signal requirements of pinball IO.

If it's timing critical (More than likely to produce a tight clean game) then you would need to look at an embedded system with many direct IO ports.

@Homepin would no doubt have good advice in regards to the Brains & IO of the Thunderbird pinball.

I know Mike doesn't like PC based systems.

Is there any software around that would allow the eproms in a pinball mpu to be reprogrammed using something like C and compiling it without having to resort to assembly or machine code?

I suppose I should ask what are the benefits of each system and what's available? As I'm new to all this.

Cheers Trev

Requirements......

Lucky for the homebrewer is the advent of Arduino peripherals!

Lighting - You probably want to use a LED matrix to get the most of your IO lines (For required brightness you probably want to go to a LED driver board).

Output - You could probably do the same thing for solenoid output - to the high powered (Solenoid) driver board instead.

Is there any software around that would allow the eproms in a pinball mpu to be reprogrammed using something like C and compiling it without having to resort to assembly or machine code?

I suppose I should ask what are the benefits of each system and what's available? As I'm new to all this.

Cheers Trev

Doubt it - Unless the VPIN community has some sort of rom editing tool.

To reprogram a MPU yourself.....

You would 1st have to reverse engineer the software to find how it operates the hardware (Reverse engineering machine code is not something trivial).