Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Faulty Coin Mechs - MS 111

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    2,122
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Quoted
    283 Post(s)

    Faulty Coin Mechs - MS 111

    Hey Guys

    I have two coin mechs that have failed suddenly, both around the same time after years of trouble free use!

    What's the normal procedure here, just bin and buy new ones? Repair? If repair, does anyone here repair them? Or any simple things I can try myself?

    I have tried reseating the plugs, and ribbon cables to the credit board. Money just goes in and comes straight back out the return shoot. I have removed them and opened the coin return door and checked for any foreign objects (with twin two year olds, I am always removing something from all the coin mechs. Pulled a paddle pop stick and bits of plastic out of my Shinobi cab the other day!).

    Thanks,

    Lefty IMG20190516142221.jpeg

    Sent from my X9009 using Aussie Arcade mobile app

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    769
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Quoted
    137 Post(s)
    Australia
    Check the coin path for grime 1st, remove any caked on gunk with a razor blade then go over it with some cleaner and a rag.
    I used to work for Bluejade Electronics a hundred years ago that fixed the Mars Electronics stuff. If they're still there, they were in Furntree Gully, Vic.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    State
    Toowoomba, QLD
    Posts
    997
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Quoted
    37 Post(s)
    After cleaning the coin path if there's any grooves from coin wear I give them a tidy up with 400 wet and dry and then clean with ipsoproly again then a light wax on, wax off with mothers california gold carnauba wax. Gets em silky smooth. That's vending machine coin mech anyway.

    Sent from my INE-LX2 using Aussie Arcade mobile app
    The HillDweller

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    State
    Toowoomba, QLD
    Posts
    997
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Quoted
    37 Post(s)
    You might also check over those electrolytic caps with a esr meter and reseat the socketed ic's

    Sent from my INE-LX2 using Aussie Arcade mobile app
    The HillDweller

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    2,122
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Quoted
    283 Post(s)

    Thanks guys, will start with the clean up. Opened one up and was surprised how dirty it was!

    Sent from my X9009 using Aussie Arcade mobile app

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    2,122
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Quoted
    283 Post(s)

    Haven't had any success fixing these up. Would be happy to pay someone if anyone on here fixes them. Only really need one fixed for my lai lowboy as I use it for various Jamma boards and many can't be set to freeplay. I The other is out of a dedicated Atari Badlands that I have now set to freeplay. Being small they are easy to post. Let me know if anyone on here can get these back up and running. Thanks.

    Sent from my X9009 using Aussie Arcade mobile app

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    State
    Queensland
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    13 Post(s)
    Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by Left jump left 1P View Post
    Haven't had any success fixing these up. Would be happy to pay someone if anyone on here fixes them. Only really need one fixed for my lai lowboy as I use it for various Jamma boards and many can't be set to freeplay. I The other is out of a dedicated Atari Badlands that I have now set to freeplay. Being small they are easy to post. Let me know if anyone on here can get these back up and running. Thanks.

    Sent from my X9009 using Aussie Arcade mobile app
    I've got the same issue - but I suspect that the credit board on my is toast. Since you have 2, have you tried swapping the credit boards? I called a place at the sunshine coast who put me onto the distributor - they were helpful in that they suggested sending it in to them and they would test it etc. I didn't go ahead as I just set the games I had to free play. I don't have all the scribble notes I took on who it was, but a search of the internet and you should be able to locate.


    I have a cashflow 111 manual which talks about the MS111 and has some circuit/pulse diagrams etc. I can email that to you if it will help.

    Alternative is to hook up the credit switch to, say the coin return, to make a credit button on the outside (assuming this is for home use).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Coin mechs for a super sprint coin door?
    By tbriggs in forum Arcade
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19th November 2015, 02:07 PM
  2. 2 Player Coin door and Coin Mechs
    By punk in forum Mame Cab Projects and Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th October 2011, 09:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •