Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Hyperspin won't start registry issues??

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    State
    Sydney (Sutherland shire)
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Thanks guys I'm pretty keen to learn how it all works so any help would be appreciated
    In safe mode I can't open control panel or windows explorer so I assume it's a windows registry issue. Correct me if you think I'm wrong.
    It's a dell Oem windows installation I'll investigate downloading a copy.
    I have attached a photo of the startup programs in case that helps.

    IMG_0179.JPG


    Sent from my iPad using Aussie Arcade

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    State
    New South Wales
    Posts
    1,202
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Quoted
    380 Post(s)
    My money is on corrupt windows system files, which includes registry. Windows recovery. You don't need a legit version to run it.

    In saying that I agree with Brad. Hyerspin setups aren't hard, they are just involved. It's not plug and play by any means and you'll always have to tweak something eventually. Most likely unless you have gone through the process you won't know where to start.

    Sent from my HTC 2PZF1 using Tapatalk

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    State
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,492
    Mentioned
    204 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1510 Post(s)
    I still say its a shell problem, not a registry problem.

    I would actually enable all of those startup features and then restart the machine.

    This should then boot into Hyperspin (assuming a good install)

    Then exit Hyperspin and see if it reverts to Windows Desktop.

    If ESC doesn't exit Hyperspin (you can change the keys) then

    explorer may be hidden i.e. taskbar is on autohide.
    Press the windows key to display menu

    Otherwise in the process list in task manager does it have explorer.exe running.
    If not then select the run command and run explorer.exe and this will start the taskbar/start button.

    Brad

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    State
    Sydney (Sutherland shire)
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Brad
    Im away from the machine for a few days and will reenable all the startup programs when i return.
    What it was doing before i disabled the startup programs was hyperspin would startup but would take a long time,no sound and the screen would freeze on a picture.
    Pressing escape i would get a message hyperspin is not responding do i want to wait or exit hyperspin.
    I chose exit and exited to windows desktop.
    Once on the desktop i cant access control panel or windows explorer.


    Sent from my SM-G930F using Aussie Arcade mobile app

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    State
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,492
    Mentioned
    204 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1510 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by faza01 View Post
    Once on the desktop i cant access control panel or windows explorer.


    Sent from my SM-G930F using Aussie Arcade mobile app
    Ctl Alt Delete, Task Manager, File, New Task, explorer.exe and Enter

    Brad

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,904
    Mentioned
    102 Post(s)
    Quoted
    285 Post(s)
    If you can access the registry then check the value of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\Shell

    It may have been changed to make it boot straight to arcade. Make a backup of the registry key (Or the whole registry if you're going to be doing anything else) and then change it to explorer.exe

    This should hopefully make it so you can access explorer again

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    State
    New South Wales
    Posts
    1,202
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Quoted
    380 Post(s)
    When I shelled one of my machines I did it a totally different way. I'm not sure why people are disabling explorer. Seems unnecessary.

    Sent from my HTC 2PZF1 using Tapatalk

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    State
    Sydney (Sutherland shire)
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    Hyperspin won't start registry issues??

    Thanks for all the replies guys I appreciate the help.
    I've made a bit of progress.
    If I booted the machine and left it for say 20 minutes hyperspin would slowly load but was unuseable.
    Brad explorer.exe is running.
    What I've found is I opened msconfig then services then disabled all services and rebooted the machine.
    Hyperspin loaded no trouble at all but I had no sound.
    I then methodically enabled all services until I found which one was the culprit. It turned out to be a service called Power.
    With power disabled the machine boots up into hyperspin but still has no audio and the speaker in the task bar has a cross on it. Also games don't load.
    If I enable power again the machine gets stuck loading hyperspin but when I exit to desktop the sound works.
    If I exit to desktop I still can't open control panel or windows explorer and still get the same message. This file does not have a program associated with it.
    When the machine starts up it starts windows then hyperspin does that mean it is not shelled?
    Sorry about having to use photos but screenshots are hard without explorer working and without control panel I can't connect to wifi.
    IMG_0185.JPG


    Sent from my iPad using Aussie Arcade

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    State
    Sydney (Sutherland shire)
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    MoreIMG_0186.JPG


    Sent from my iPad using Aussie Arcade

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    State
    Sydney (Sutherland shire)
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)

    MoreIMG_0181.JPG


    Sent from my iPad using Aussie Arcade


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Striker xtreme start button wiring issues
    By HighTower in forum Pinball Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st February 2019, 02:16 PM
  2. Multiple Issues with Cyclone - where do i start
    By RaoulJuke in forum Pinball Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st August 2018, 01:53 PM
  3. hyperspin setup - where to start ? in perth
    By larry in forum M.A.M.E Emulation Projects and Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th May 2014, 06:29 PM
  4. Registry cleaners
    By Burra749 in forum Computers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th October 2007, 06:45 PM
  5. J-PAC Start button issues
    By Xsit3d in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd June 2006, 09:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •