Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: VP10 on lower spec machines

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2009
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    6,135
    Mentioned
    155 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1400 Post(s)
    Australia

    VP10 on lower spec machines

    I remember @OzStick used to have a thread about specs he's tried with VP10, I couldn't find it, but thought I'd post this.

    I've been setting up an old desktop I have as a test with VP10, as i wanted to extract the current gaming PC in the VPin and use it elsewhere.

    The old desktop i've been setting up is an older platform i've used as a development and work pc for a while. Speccy dump:



    These components can be had pretty cheaply - the Q9550 CPU is an old but very capable Quad Core CPU ($20-$40 Ebay) and I scored the 2GB 660GTX for $30 as the only bidder on fleabay. The HDD's are nothing special at all, no SSD, and only 4GB DDR2 Ram.

    This spec is running VP10 full screen with two screens perfectly, Max detail settings, realtime AO updated, reflections on playfield, 1080p res playfield and 720p backglass. Ran ACDC perfect, and I tested some of the more recent releases from the last couple months, all run perfect.

    Pretty gobsmacked!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Australia
    I'm not into building PCs but have added graphics cards and upgraded to SSDs before, but would something like this be a good starting point, then just add better graphics card?
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Dell-Opt...UAAOSwm79cv8J2

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2009
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    6,135
    Mentioned
    155 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1400 Post(s)
    Australia

    Quote Originally Posted by djgra79 View Post
    I'm not into building PCs but have added graphics cards and upgraded to SSDs before, but would something like this be a good starting point, then just add better graphics card?
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Dell-Opt...UAAOSwm79cv8J2
    It's probably a little under powered in the cpu, which is important for VP. and these Dell optiplex don't have a lot of room inside the case to add decent video cards, which can get large.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Croydon, VIC
    Posts
    1,953
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Quoted
    330 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by djgra79 View Post
    I'm not into building PCs but have added graphics cards and upgraded to SSDs before, but would something like this be a good starting point, then just add better graphics card?
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Dell-Opt...UAAOSwm79cv8J2
    Nope - a Core2Duo will struggle trying to run VPX even with all its settings cranked right down. You'd end up with tables that don't look that great due to losing too much detail and the performance still won't quite be up to the task.

    You are way better off spending a bit more on something like this:
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HP-Compa...53.m1438.l2649

    That PC is still very good value for money and combined with a GTX1050 and a 240Gb SSD it will run VPX really well. There will still be the odd table here and there that will struggle, but for those you can slightly lower/reduce/disable certain settings on a per table basis to get them to behave.

    Cheers, Chris

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Australia
    Thanks Chris.
    As Jed pointed out, would the GTX1050 fit insde the SFF case? Does that one card drive both screens or do I need 2x of those cards?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Australia
    Doing a bit of Googling this evening, it seems that the RX 570 is a better option (more FPS in most games) and is slightly cheaper:
    https://www.pccasegear.com/products/...edition-oc-4gb
    Again, due to the fans, unsure if that would physically fit in the above listed SFF machine? And I guess the main playfield monitor uses this card, and the backglass monitor uses the standard inbuilt output?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2009
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    6,135
    Mentioned
    155 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1400 Post(s)
    Australia

    Quote Originally Posted by djgra79 View Post
    Thanks Chris.
    As Jed pointed out, would the GTX1050 fit insde the SFF case? Does that one card drive both screens or do I need 2x of those cards?
    you only need the one card to run 2 monitors, as long as the card is good enough. I've run 2 monitor setups on a 660 and a 970. the 970 was overkill though.

    i haven't done exhaustive tests with the 660, but it run everything i threw at it including complex sterns like ACDC. and i got the 660 for $30 bucks !

    the machine ozstick linked is a bigger case than the optiplex, so it should fit most cards. i had to pull out the tin snips to shoehorn the 970 into a standard (older) PC tower case though.

    newer cards like the 1050 would be smaller form factor i'm guessing. (haven't seen one in the flesh to say for sure.)

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Australia
    ohh, don't give me MORE options to consider!! lol Even in ebay there seems to be multiple versions (and brands??) https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...=27386&_sop=15
    So that's a 2GB card, but you reckon that will do the job fine? I'm not interested in 4k or anything, 1080p will be fine so long as its smooth enough FPS wise.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    State
    Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    682
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Quoted
    117 Post(s)
    Australia
    I used this card in a lenovo SFF and it works great, 2 monitors on the card, and one on the in-built video, works great at 1080, no good for 4k though.
    The card also doesnt need the extra power connector either, which most
    SFF dont have and the GTX 660 needs and draws more power.
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Gigabyte...QAAOSwsZhcMxzh
    Last edited by sriley50; 3 Weeks Ago at 09:28 PM.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Australia
    OK so how does this sound for the PC:
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HP-Compa...53.m1438.l2649

    Graphics card:
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Gigabyte...QAAOSwsZhcMxzh

    500GB SSD:
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/With-Cas...item33ebcb68cc

    All up with shipping about $470. Anything else I might need to consider or change?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vp10 Tron Legacy - JedMod
    By Jed in forum Virtual Pinball Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th October 2017, 09:42 AM
  2. My VP Performance with my PC specs running VP9 and or VP10
    By mxd in forum Virtual Pinball Projects and Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th July 2017, 04:38 PM
  3. VP10 and nudging - i need advice ?
    By Jed in forum Virtual Pinball Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 14th June 2017, 08:22 PM
  4. Medieval Madness VP10 - all new rebuild
    By Jed in forum Virtual Pinball Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd November 2016, 08:53 AM
  5. Replies: 42
    Last Post: 4th June 2010, 01:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •