Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Neo Geo cabinet questions

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Gold Coast Qld
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Australia

    Neo Geo cabinet questions

    Hi Guys
    Making a start on the neo geo cab I just picked up and have some questions
    It came with 2 motherboards (see pics) from what I have read one is a MV-1 and the other a MV-1F
    I assume I can use either one or is one better?
    Also again assuming all you do is plug in the jamma harness but there is also a another connector (see pic) that gets plugged in
    Is it for the sound as the wiring goes up the cab to the speakers??
    There are points on both boards that seem to have a connections for this (1P or 2P)
    Any help would be appreciated
    Cheers 20190421_072846.jpg 20190421_072851.jpg
    20190421_073005.jpg
    Facebook - "Arcade Furniture"

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Brisvegas
    Posts
    2,637
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Quoted
    68 Post(s)
    That connector is for the credit board. The four slot and six slot boards have connectors for this. I'm not sure about the other Neo Geo boards.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Gold Coast Qld
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Australia

    Quote Originally Posted by Berty View Post
    That connector is for the credit board. The four slot and six slot boards have connectors for this. I'm not sure about the other Neo Geo boards.
    Thanks so I assume it would go in the 1P slot as its a one cartridge board
    Facebook - "Arcade Furniture"

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Gold Coast Qld
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Australia

    So I plugged both boards in with a cartridge
    Unfortunately the only good news is the monitor seems to be ok

    This is from the MV-1f board -Video ram error
    20190421_110122.jpg

    The other board starts with a blocky mess?? then goes unstable

    I guess its the board not the games as I tried different games with the same result
    Facebook - "Arcade Furniture"

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Redlands
    Posts
    18,931
    Mentioned
    151 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1878 Post(s)
    Australia
    Batteries been removed on both boards? any sign of corrosion?
    Make sure the pause dipswitch isn't enabled.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Gold Coast Qld
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    126 Post(s)
    Australia

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcade King View Post
    Batteries been removed on both boards? any sign of corrosion?
    Make sure the pause dipswitch isn't enabled.
    Batteries are both intact - small blue cylinders?
    Boards look in good condition with no corrosion
    Pause is off - hard dipswitch no 8 (says someone on google)
    Facebook - "Arcade Furniture"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie cabinet building questions
    By KTS82 in forum Virtual Pinball Projects and Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30th August 2016, 05:48 PM
  2. Getaway cabinet floor questions
    By tas_tig3r in forum Pinball Restoration Questions and Help
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 24th May 2016, 10:20 PM
  3. Questions Cabinet preparation
    By jono in forum Pinball Restoration Questions and Help
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 13th October 2013, 04:00 PM
  4. Dreamcast in Cabinet Questions
    By GZ20TT in forum Console and Handheld
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th April 2011, 06:06 PM
  5. game id by artwork and cabinet questions
    By narf_ in forum Pinball
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th June 2008, 07:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •