Thread: TAF from scratch

State
    Ballina NSW
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Quoted
    288 Post(s)

TAF from scratch

Well I have been gathering parts for a TAF now for about 5-6 years and I believe I have most of the machine bits sorted to start. It has been around a year since I finished an IJ and I have found it seems to take around 6 to 12 months for the motivation to kick in to start another restore. In this case I needed more then usual because of the work needed, but its come around so im getting stuck right in. This was always a grail pin for me, not up there with IJ but certainly top 5. I must admit though that I think my family is more excited about this machine coming to life then any others I have done. The weird thing is I never really watched the movies when they first come out. I only watched them properly (saw parts back in the day, but never took much notice) more recently with the family, and was completely blown away by just how great they were!!

These parts have come from all over the world really, local, US, Romania, Bulgaria, UK, lol ! I originally had a p/f to be restored, but when CPR did a repro I grabbed one of those real quick!
    Since starting out the less common parts have become a lot easier to get (if you want to buy them new), like the bookcase assembly, Thing hand assembly etc, so it was really starting to come together.

If anyone has a suitable complete cab lying around (doesnít need any hardware) I might be interested as I will have to make one from scratch otherwise.
    Also, desperately looking for a mansion light board (the big one). Going to have to improvise with this I think..

Anyway, here are a few picís of progress so far..

Cabinet parts etc

Playfield parts

Boards, wiring harness for cab (I think), and metal backbox plate

New parts needed