VIC
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Australia

Question My first cab minor restoration project

Hi everyone,

Thanks for having me as a new user on the forums!

Today I picked up a Street Fighter II Champion Edition lowboy cab that needs to cleaning up/repair/restoration. I got a pretty good deal on it so not too fussed about its condition. It's in pretty good shape but I'm going to need a little help in getting the thing sorted. You'll have to forgive my ignorance with some terminology as I'm a complete noob, like the only arcade experience I've got is a MAME cab.

Problem list so far:
    • the picture flickers, colours are off and the dimensions need to be tweaked to match the screen
    • some of the graphics are actually missing from the image. For example don't actually appear on the background so all the sounds of fighting are there but the characters can't be seen (see images below)
    • the game pauses with a blue screen and high pitched sound from the speaker then returns to its normal routine

I suspect the monitor/chassis may need a tune or possible replacement and I'd love for this to be all that's required, but hope it's nothing too much more technical. I've checked all connectors and they seem to be ok and there are no obviously blown capacitors etc.

I'm looking forward to tidying up the cabinet to bring it closer to its former glory but will need the help of the experts in this forum.

I've attached a few pictures, hope it's not too many and that they help to a degree!

Thanks for the guru guidance,
    Nick

20190224_181638.jpg20190224_181911.jpg20190224_182308.jpg20190224_182351.jpg20190224_182403.jpg20190224_182425.jpg20190224_182437.jpg20190224_182444.jpg20190224_182521.jpg20190224_182847.jpg20190224_182926.jpg20190224_182932.jpg20190224_183035.jpg20190224_183051.jpg20190224_183057.jpg20190224_183226.jpg
    Last edited by NRB; 4 Weeks Ago at 06:54 PM. Reason: duplicate image

State
    Brisbane
    Mentioned