State
    Poodegrah Vic
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Quoted
    897 Post(s)
    Australia

Using SSD for XXXX-in-1 systems

I'm new to the XXXX-in-1 system. I bought a 1066-in-1 family board over Xmas in a stand up cab and was told I can clone the ide drive to an SSD and use the SSD instead. Has anyone done this successfully and what are you using to connect your sata ssd to your ide port on your family board?

I found this on ebay: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/IDE-to-S...72.m2749.l2649

and managed to clone the ide drive to the ssd drive by using this adaptor to connect the ssd to ide2 and following the instructions on page 18 of the board manual. But when I take out the ide drive and replace it with this and the ssd, the computer starts up, I see the fuzzy Windows 2000 start up screen, but then the screen just goes fuzzy (a different fuzzy than normal fuzzy) and the system doesn't start up as normal.

Am I missing a step somewhere? Or am I using the wrong adaptor? Do I have to change anything in the bios, or ?

I'm a complete noob at this so far.

If this has been asked and answered, can you point me to the thread as I couldn't find anything doing a search.

Any help would be much appreciated.
    My mission (if I choose to accept it ) is to find every TZ on the planet and get them corrected if their caps are in the wrong order. Hardest part will be getting the flyer corrected

State
    Brookdale Perth W.A.
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Quoted
    21 Post(s)
    Australia
    I use cf to ide adapter. as cf use ide standard.

State
    Poodegrah Vic
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)
    Quoted
    897 Post(s)
    Australia

Quote Originally Posted by rtoago View Post
    I use cf to ide adapter. as cf use ide standard.
    So get one of these?

And one of these?

Or is there a certain model that only works with xxxx-in-1's?