Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Keywiz help

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Australia

    Keywiz help

    Hi all, I don't know whether im posting this in the correct section, my names Al and I've just acquired my first mame machine with the intention of outing it in my pool room with my retro street fighter 2 cabinet. I picked up a custom cabinet with the keywiz and buttons already installed but no pc or screen. The machine was donated by a guy off gumtree and all I had to do was install the screen and pc. I've since installed an LCD flat screen and pc running windows 7.
    My problem is that I can't get the computer to recognise the keywiz therefore unable to use the controls. We've tried the switch in all positions and still won't connect.
    I've been told that it could be the operating system (windows7) and should be running vista or the adapter we have turning the PS2 connection to USB that could be the problem. Any ideas? I can post pics once I've worked the site out if needed.
    Cheers. Al

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    State
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,662
    Mentioned
    40 Post(s)
    Quoted
    529 Post(s)
    Australia
    Perhaps a software / driver issue.

    Have you downloaded and installed the software for Win7 at the bottom of this page and read through the FAQ etc?

    https://groovygamegear.com/webstore/...roducts_id=199
    SEGA love: click | Nintendo love: click
    PC Engine love: click | Latest retro finds: click

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Australia

    Thanks frank I'll try that. We have windows 7 already and was thinking of downgrading to 97 but after checking the link you posted I realised we only have keywiz2 so thinking the upgrade to 3 might fix the issue. Would using USB adapters on the end if the PS2 cable create an issue? Should I post this elsewhere in another forum?
    Cheers for your help and apologies for my lack of IT skills

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    State
    Heathcote, NSW
    Posts
    981
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Quoted
    235 Post(s)
    Australia
    I had an I-PAC keyboard encoder for PS/2 but my research showed that using a converter wouldn't work, so I ended up buying a USB version. They are so cheap now.

    Here is the article I found, the last paragraph has the info, hope it helps.
    https://www.ultimarc.com/usb_vs_ps2.html

    Not sure if it's the same situation with the keywiz?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. NNNNNNOOOOOOO- Keywiz Help
    By spaceballs in forum Mame Cab Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 27th January 2009, 01:26 PM
  2. Keywiz problem ???
    By mxd in forum Mame Cab Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th November 2008, 01:41 PM
  3. usb or ps2 keywiz?
    By bludeus in forum Mame Cab Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th January 2007, 07:37 AM
  4. I-PAC vs KeyWiz MAX
    By njclifford in forum Arcade
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 31st March 2006, 07:12 PM
  5. KEYWIZ or I-PAC
    By WOKA in forum Mame Cab Hardware and Software Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd November 2005, 10:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •