• Enraged
  • Embarrased
  • Drunk
  • Down
  • Depressed
  • Crying
  • Crazy
  • Cool
  • Cocky
  • Bemused
  • Awesome
  • Annoyed
  • Angry
  • Amused
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Thread: CRT Monitor display with wiggly lines

    1. #1
      0xce is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2018
      State
      Queensland
      Posts
      16
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Quoted
      3 Post(s)
      Australia

      CRT Monitor display with wiggly lines

      I have recently got a CRT monitor up and running.

      Previously I have this converter board which ran my Jamma board on a LCD screen:

      adapterboard.jpg

      The CRT monitor has a VGA cable wired (and taped) up. I am trying to plug the VGA cable from the CRT in to the adapter and I have the following results below. If I use the CRT controls, the wiggles resize and move with the screen when making adjustments.

      I guess my question is that 1) Has anyone seen this before? and 2) Could it be the adapter causing this, meaning should there be a cable that goes from the Jamma RGB cable to the CRT?

      Here is what I get:

      IMG_0294.jpg

      IMG_0295.jpg

      IMG_0296.jpg

      IMG_0300.jpg

      IMG_0302.jpg

    2. #2
      namastepat's Avatar
      namastepat is online now
      is brewing beer and playing
      arcades.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      State
      Brisbane
      Posts
      5,443
      Mentioned
      146 Post(s)
      Quoted
      1279 Post(s)
      Australia
      Is the CRT 31khz or 15khz?

      If it's 15khz, no need for the adaptor now. Ditch it and hook-up the board directly. It may require some rewiring, but there's no need for the adaptor anymore if you're going to run a 15khz CRT.

      Also, the VGA cable wired to the monitor may not be VGA, it could just look like one. If it's a 15khz monitor, it may just be a DB-15 plug that has been wired to take RGB-sync and ground.

    3. #3
      0xce is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2018
      State
      Queensland
      Posts
      16
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Quoted
      3 Post(s)
      Australia

      Hi Namastepat

      That sounds like the best option, I'm embarrassed to admit I do not know if it is 15khz or 31khz and on top of that I don't know how to find out.

      I think you are spot on with the cable though. I have removed it and taken a couple of shots of the cable and connector.

      It appears to go in this order:

      1) Red
      2) Red Ground
      3) Green
      4) Green Ground
      5) Blue
      6) Blue Ground
      7) H\V ?
      8) V ?
      9) ?
      10) Ground

      IMG_0317.jpg

      I figure I should be able to wire 1, 3, 5, and 10 to the Jamma video connector.. but which one should be 'sync' ? (which is a white wire from the Jamma video connector)


      And here is the current connector:

      IMG_0318.jpg

    4. #4
      namastepat's Avatar
      namastepat is online now
      is brewing beer and playing
      arcades.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      State
      Brisbane
      Posts
      5,443
      Mentioned
      146 Post(s)
      Quoted
      1279 Post(s)
      Australia
      When it comes to specific wiring, I will pass it over to people who know more than I do.

      Basically, take a photo of the monitor chassis with a model number and other stuff visible and @Jomac will likely be able to ID the chassis. Or you can go to his website here and see if you can ID the chassis from the photos. That will let you know if it's 15khz or 31khz.

      http://www.jomac.net.au/services/monitors/

      The rewiring is beyond my skills, but someone on here will be able to let you know what needs to go from the JAMMA harness to the connector.

    5. #5
      0xce is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2018
      State
      Queensland
      Posts
      16
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Quoted
      3 Post(s)
      Australia

      No problem and thanks heaps for info you have provided.

      I would say it looks like it is a Ducksan 1301 Series. I have found a schematic which looks like it matches too, and according to this:

      Pin 7 = H Sync
      Pin 8 = V Sync

      Ducksan Schematic.PNG


      And the Jamma Video connector has the following:

      RED
      GREEN
      BLUE
      GROUND (black)
      SYNC (white)

      JammaVideo.PNG

      Which leads me to the question about which Sync should be wired up to this connector (V Sync or H Sync) ?



      I still can't find whether it is 15 or 31 khz but here are the labels from the monitor:

      ducksan.jpg
      samsung label.jpg

    6. #6
      Holy-SNES is online now
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      State
      Victoria
      Posts
      181
      Mentioned
      5 Post(s)
      Quoted
      44 Post(s)
      Australia
      Found this...

      http://www.pinball2000.de/pin2000_monitor.htm

      Try connecting the yellow and white wires on the monitor cable to the single white sync wire of the RGBS connector.

    7. #7
      soyl is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      State
      Europe
      Posts
      49
      Mentioned
      7 Post(s)
      Quoted
      26 Post(s)
      That tube is for chassis that only do 15khz.

      connect jamma csync to h.

    8. #8
      0xce is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2018
      State
      Queensland
      Posts
      16
      Mentioned
      0 Post(s)
      Quoted
      3 Post(s)
      Australia

      I wired it directly, using sync H and unfortunately it didn't make any difference, the display remains sqiggly - I have noticed the squiggles change depending on what is on the display at the time. I managed to get hold of another board, (different game) and with using the same wire harness, there was no display distortion.

      The game board I am using with the monitor issue is Point Blank. Now I am wondering if this Point Blank requires a specific monitor to run on?

      I will try it with a different power supply tomorrow but I have my doubts that will change anything.

    9. #9
      namastepat's Avatar
      namastepat is online now
      is brewing beer and playing
      arcades.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      State
      Brisbane
      Posts
      5,443
      Mentioned
      146 Post(s)
      Quoted
      1279 Post(s)
      Australia
      Point Blank is just a standard 15khz game, no specific monitor required. Might be a board fault, but it doesn't look like one. It looks to be more monitor related.

    10. #10
      -Slayer-'s Avatar
      -Slayer- is offline
      is Thinking about the next build!
       
      Awesome
       

      Join Date
      Feb 2016
      State
      Victoria
      Posts
      646
      Mentioned
      5 Post(s)
      Quoted
      175 Post(s)
      Australia
      Connect both sync wires from chasis to the jamma one

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Just got Chassis Rebuilt - Green lines and washed out display?
      By SilentSausage93 in forum Monitor and Chassis Repair Help
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 1st November 2016, 07:38 PM
    2. blured lines on monitor
      By abeswick in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: 4th May 2014, 10:26 PM
    3. Scrolling lines over top of display
      By TREDLEY in forum Jomac
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 30th October 2010, 11:41 AM
    4. 5'ish horozontal lines across top of monitor
      By Bikkies in forum Monitor and Chassis Repair Help
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 19th March 2009, 04:36 PM
    5. Horizontal lines in monitor
      By wweumina in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 25th November 2008, 04:36 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •