Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 118

Thread: PS2 Guncon2 PCB to Original Namco Arcade Gun mod

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Quoted
    79 Post(s)
    Australia

    PS2 Guncon2 PCB to Original Namco Arcade Gun mod

    Has anyone here by any chance modded their Namco arcade gun to work with a guncon2 for ps2?

    I would love a time crisis cab or a point blank cab, but unfortunately, I just don't have the room or can afford one at present.

    The next best thing is to mod my astro city to play ps2 namco light gun games!

    Enter my inspiration



    I'm now in the process of trying to begin this mode, but before I worry about the solenoid, first things first is to "convert" the Namco gun for the PS2 using the gcon2 pcb!

    Looking at the video, it seems pretty "easy" in terms of wiring up the +5v, GND, optical line and trigger line and the gcon2 works with the "namco" optical component without any "mods"

    Sourced out a gcon2



    Taking it apart is pretty self explanatory and I ended up with the main PCB



    Using the trusty multi meter, I found what I believe to be the trigger wire



    The GND and +5v



    And what I believe is the Optical line



    Note, I have removed the optical sensor from the PCB





    I connected the following:

    • +5v from the gcon2 pcb to the +5v line of the namco gun (goes to the optical sensor - red)
    • GND from the gcon2 pcb to the GND line of the namco gun (goes to the trigger micro switch and optical sensor - black)
    • Optical sensor line from the gcon2 pcb to the Optical sensor line of the namco gun (white)
    • Trigger line from the gcon2 to the trigger line of the namco gun (blue)


    I'm not sure if there's anything else that I've missed, but for the life of me, I can't work out why the namco gun doesn't work. The video appears to show it should work seamlessly but when I try and calibrate the Namco gun on the PS2 (gcon2 calibration screen), nothing registers.

    The PS2 definitely recognises the gcon2 and it did work prior to removing the shell and sensor.

    I'm hoping someone on here has previously done this type of mod or is very familiar with the gcon.

    Any ideas or suggestions?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    State
    Atwell Perth
    Posts
    3,280
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Quoted
    261 Post(s)
    Australia
    Are you using a lcd screen or a crt, I think most of these light gun games use a crt.

    Im not a wiz on these but I did read somewhere that most guns dont work on lcd's.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Quoted
    79 Post(s)
    Australia

    CRT - on my astro city

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    State
    Atwell Perth
    Posts
    3,280
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Quoted
    261 Post(s)
    Australia
    Is the Namco gun new or tested working?
    If its a used gun are you using the wiring that came with the gun, I have had a time crisis cab that the gun would not work, ended up being 1 wire broken in the cable to the gun (Found by checking continuity).
    Have had optical sensors give up too (think I have some spares here somewhere)

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Quoted
    79 Post(s)
    Australia

    It's hasn't actually been tested to be working.. I've confirmed the solenoid works and I just assumed everything else worked...

    I'll test for continuity tomorrow..

    I connect using the original 6 pin plug.. I purchased some from RS Components



    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2017
    State
    WA
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    29 Post(s)
    Australia
    It looks like you're taking your 5V and ground from elsewhere on the PCB and not where the optical sensor was originally fitted and by doing so you are missing out parts of the circuit (looks like a cap and a resistor).

    Was unable to find a guncon 2 schematic but take this guncon 1 for example

    https://leandre.hexeo.be/2015/11/18/...-103-teardown/

    Had you wired to pins 23 (+5V) and 28 (ground) you would of cut out R1 and C4.

    Identify 5v and ground for points 1 & 3 then connect up to them and retest.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Quoted
    79 Post(s)
    Australia

    I might try and locate a gcon1.

    I'm taking the +5v from the USB.

    The power line from the optical sensor appears to be 3.3v from the markings of the pcb (when I put one end of a multimeter of #3 on the sensor unit, there's continuity to the 3.3v points)



    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    Last edited by mR_CaESaR; 8th May 2018 at 10:55 AM.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    State
    New South Wales
    Posts
    1,009
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Quoted
    332 Post(s)
    Australia
    Modding the guncon to have a solenoid is supposed to be easy. Could go the other way


    That and a ps2 scart mod is what I'm saying. All ps2 gun games available that way.

    Sent from my HTC 2PZF1 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by redferatu; 5th May 2018 at 07:33 AM.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Quoted
    79 Post(s)
    Australia

    Quote Originally Posted by redferatu View Post
    Modding the guncon to have a solenoid is supposed to be easy. Could go the other way


    That and a ps2 scart mod is what I'm saying. All ps2 gun games available that way.

    Sent from my HTC 2PZF1 using Tapatalk
    This is my plan

    I already have all the games.. And all the parts to make it happen.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    State
    New South Wales
    Posts
    1,009
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Quoted
    332 Post(s)
    Australia
    Ohh OK I get what you are doing now. Probably should have tested it with the ps2 first then. Hindsight is a bitch.

    Is it worth re-installing the ps2 trigger ad-hoc and see if it tracks on the calibration screen?

    Sent from my HTC 2PZF1 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •