• Enraged
  • Embarrased
  • Drunk
  • Down
  • Depressed
  • Crying
  • Crazy
  • Cool
  • Cocky
  • Bemused
  • Awesome
  • Annoyed
  • Angry
  • Amused
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  0
    Likes Likes:  0
    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Thread: Step Up Transformer?

    1. #1
      Berty's Avatar
      Berty is offline Ex SuperMods club
      is the arcade hermit
       
      Enraged
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2005
      State
      Brisvegas
      Posts
      2,576
      Mentioned
      17 Post(s)
      Quoted
      56 Post(s)

      Step Up Transformer?

      Long story short, I had a dedicated cab in which I am retrofitting new electronics which run on AU voltage but the internal wiring of the cabinet is 100-110v.

      For various reasons I don't want to add a separate 220-240v feed and would rather 'step-up' the 100-110v to 220-240v at the right point in the cab. Question is, can I use a step-down transformer to achieve this if I change the primary and secondary sides around?

    2. #2
      Johns-Arcade's Avatar
      Johns-Arcade is offline My quest awaits!
      is a Homepin authorised parts
      stockist
       
      Meh
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2006
      State
      SE Queensland
      Posts
      3,990
      Mentioned
      186 Post(s)
      Quoted
      822 Post(s)
      Australia
      This doesn't make sense. Are you planning to use a 240V step down transformer, then another 110V to 240V step up transformer?

      What parts require 110V (Monitor?), and what parts are you fitting that need 240V?

      Regards,

      Johns-Arcade.

    3. #3
      Berty's Avatar
      Berty is offline Ex SuperMods club
      is the arcade hermit
       
      Enraged
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2005
      State
      Brisvegas
      Posts
      2,576
      Mentioned
      17 Post(s)
      Quoted
      56 Post(s)

      Howdy - what I mean is using a standard AC step-down transformer in reverse to step-up power from an internal 100v supply. I.e feeding the 100v input into the secondary winding to achieve 220v out of the primary.

    4. #4
      Autosteve is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Dec 2016
      State
      Barden Ridge NSW
      Posts
      2,566
      Mentioned
      125 Post(s)
      Quoted
      979 Post(s)
      Australia
      Quote Originally Posted by Berty View Post
      Question is, can I use a step-down transformer to achieve this if I change the primary and secondary sides around?
      Yes you can providing the current of the old IN winding can handle the current you wish to pull out if it which is normally not the case but not always.

      I agree with @Johns-Arcade line of questions though, but the answer to your question, yes.

    5. #5
      Johns-Arcade's Avatar
      Johns-Arcade is offline My quest awaits!
      is a Homepin authorised parts
      stockist
       
      Meh
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2006
      State
      SE Queensland
      Posts
      3,990
      Mentioned
      186 Post(s)
      Quoted
      822 Post(s)
      Australia
      What's the game?

      Regards,

      Johns-Arcade.

    6. #6
      Berty's Avatar
      Berty is offline Ex SuperMods club
      is the arcade hermit
       
      Enraged
       

      Join Date
      Oct 2005
      State
      Brisvegas
      Posts
      2,576
      Mentioned
      17 Post(s)
      Quoted
      56 Post(s)

      So the long version of the story is this...

      I have a pair of Japanese Daytona DX cabinets. These are 100v and run off a step-down transformer. There is a 100v feed that goes to the monitor from the main cab. The rear-projection unit has now died, so I have retrofitted a ultra short throw projector into the monitor housing. I want to maintain the 4:3 screen ratio at all costs as well as the general aesthetic of the cab.

      This new projector uses 220-240v and doesn't have an option to switch the input to 100-110v. So currently I am running a second power cable out of the back of the monitor housing for the projector but I want to keep the cab as close to original as possible. (Yes, I'm choosing to do things the hard way).

      I want to get the retro-fit to look as original as possible, hence I want to step-up the 100-110v feed that is going through the Sega wiring loom to the rear projection unit to power the new projector.

    7. #7
      Ramakers's Avatar
      Ramakers is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      State
      Belgium
      Posts
      127
      Mentioned
      10 Post(s)
      Quoted
      27 Post(s)
      Belgium
      Isn't it possible to feed the cabinet with 220/240 and step this down inside the cabinet where needed? If you try to step up the voltage with a transformer this is possible but but this is very won't be efficient. And you already stepping the voltage down, again loss of efficiency.
      Why do I press play to start a movie, but start to play a game?

    8. #8
      Holy-SNES is online now
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      State
      Victoria
      Posts
      146
      Mentioned
      4 Post(s)
      Quoted
      35 Post(s)
      Australia
      Stepping the voltage up, only to step it back down is redundant.
      What exactly runs on 100v now? I'm assuming the psu? Just tap into the 240v line before the step down for the projector.

    9. #9
      thegrunta666's Avatar
      thegrunta666 is offline
      is Trying to finish Battle Pinny
      for Pinfest
       
      Crying
       

      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      State
      Melbourne
      Posts
      1,244
      Mentioned
      90 Post(s)
      Quoted
      432 Post(s)
      Yes you can set up the transformer as a boost ( step up ) transformer. Remember that watts are watts ! What goes in will come out...so 110v 2amp in ( 220watt) will be 240v 0.9amp out . Would it not be easier to wire off the 240vac plug on the inside of the cabinet then into your projector? Ascetically, you would still have the same external connection to the cab.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •