Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Custom Arcade Machine - Need audit of software/hardware, $ offered (Melbourne)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    State
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,673
    Mentioned
    198 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1480 Post(s)

    Its sheer laziness. I mean you should build these rigs identically inside, set the system up once, image it and everything will work for every machine you build after that.

    Brad

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    14 Post(s)

    Ok so I just tested a few games on a few consoles to make sure I wasnt incorrect in what I was about to type.

    Sega classics: i got 1 game to work, but for multiple others i got a 'Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator has stopped working' error.
    Sega Genesis: Onslaught: DirectDraw Int Error #2 - Unable to set display mode. Paper Boy: Same DirectDraw error. Pitfall: Same error. - All of Genesis doesnt work.
    Nintendo classics: Donkey Kong: Worked fine. Metroid: Stalls on the start screen, requests to press enter, but if you press any key it doesnt do anything. Punch Out: I got a game to start, but not all buttons are mapped.
    Capcom Classics: "There are known problems with this machine. One or more ROMs/CHDs for this machine have not been correctly dumped." But the games are responsive after that.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    State
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,673
    Mentioned
    198 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1480 Post(s)
    None of your emulators have been setup. You even have some games attempting to use an emulator it wasn't made for. These guys are a disgrace. I mean you can verify the rom sets with data files weeding out the non-working and these dicks couldn't even do that.

    Run dats across using the remove or move option. Job done. Then spend about 2 mins per emulator setting up global options. Use relative paths, image that and then you have a completely working system that you just copy to the next one.

    This incompetence at that price point just makes me angry. They should NOT be selling them at all.

    Brad

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,923
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1430 Post(s)
    Yep, you have some very serious emulator setup issues going on with those errors. What do you mean Sega Classics? Is that a menu item in your Hyperspin front end for Sega Master System? If it's Sega, why the hell are they trying to run with MAME and not a Sega emulator?? Whoever setup your emulators needs to be shot. The fact they have sold this as a product is downright deplorable.

    If they won't fix it for you, you're gonna need to get someone experienced with both Hyperspin setup and emulator setup to fix it. It could take minutes, it could take hours, depending on just how much is setup incorrectly.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    State
    Atwell Perth
    Posts
    3,382
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Quoted
    284 Post(s)
    I would be getting consumer affairs involved, the seller has sold you a machine stating it has xxx games, when in reality he has sold you a machine that does not meet the level of what is advertised.
    He may come back with the old "'I only sold you a machine, the games and software are free", chestnut, but in reality he has supplied it, so it has to be covered even if it was free.

    It would be in his best interest to sort it for you, I'm sure that he does not have permission to use the logos of all the manufacturers of said pirated games, or artwork, or permission to distribute said pirated games, even if free, I am sure consumer affairs would have a bit of a field day with him.

    If you contact him do it in writing, Email or text, if you call him he can say whatever he likes, but he has to be careful on what he writes.


    Hope it all works out.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,923
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1430 Post(s)
    It would be interesting to see how it panned out, that's for sure. Selling ROMS like this is totally illegal, but not heavily policed. However, if more and more people keep getting burnt, such as in the Digital Hype fisaco, maybe the policing will become more robust.

    To the OP, just so you know, with machines like this, you can expect the following if the machine has been built and configured properly.

    1) All console games up until N64/Dreamcast era will work flawlessly. There should be no errors, no slowdowns in emulation and every game will work as it should 100%. When you get to N64 era, Dreamcast and beyond, the level of emulation will depend heavily on the PC running the emulator.

    2) Hyperspin will be setup with a complete artwork set for every game with videos, background images, wheel graphics etc etc. Basically, there should be no unpopulated artwork, or only very minimal stuff missing.

    3) MAME will emulate the MASSIVE majority of arcade ROMS with 2 joysticks and 6 buttons per player. Most everything up until the early 2000s should work perfectly with exceptions such as 3D games and games that require specific controls or hardware. There should be no nag screens telling you to hit left and right on the joystick and no screens saying this game may have errors. When you start the game, it should boot instantly.

    4) You should have an arcade games list that has duplicates removed so that you do not have to scroll through 10 000+ arcade games to find the game you want. You should have a complete romset, but that romset can have all the duplicates, non working games, or games that don't work with your control setup removed.

    I would keep pursuing the seller and document video evidence of the machine not working on all the games. Take videos, photos of errors etc and then email the seller with those videos/photos.

    Good luck.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    14 Post(s)

    Thanks for all the replies guys, I might push this through consumer affairs, its clear hes doing it to more people as ive had a few friends pose as buyers and hes instantly blocked them from his page once they asked too many technical questions about the setup.

    Should be interesting to see what the outcome is.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    State
    Tasmania
    Posts
    1,427
    Mentioned
    71 Post(s)
    Quoted
    463 Post(s)
    For "Sega Classics" emulation, along with other console emulation, they're probably just using MESS - it's built into MAME now, and tbh it's going to be just as good as Kega Fusion for a massive system setup like this one running an LCD.

    EDIT: My bad, the error does say Fusion 3.6 - it sounds like they've just grabbed an image from somewhere themselves and don't know what to do with it.

    Careful with consumer affairs. The use of most game roms and such falls into a grey area at best. How they can be selling these under an ABN i'm not sure. You might be able to argue that going in blind you expected the vendor to provide licensed software, and now you want your money back. Another problem might be that each install of windows technically needs it's own individual license key.

    I would follow Pat's suggestion and keep at them. We pretty much managed to hound another maker such as this out of business when other complaints were added to a thread like yours and it became the #1 hit on google for them. These guys need to up their game and, as Brad said, at least get a single stable software image to build from, and deliver what they advertise.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    State
    Qld
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    I bought an arcade machine off Ultra Custom Cabs in December last year and I am extreamly happy with my machine. Almost every game I have played works and loads fine. It does come up with the odd error message, I just read the on screen message to move the joystick left and right and the game loads and played fine (that is a general rom message and only in mame). My son stuffed up the settings and I contacted them and they were very helpful, talked me through what to do on the phone (as there are back up settings on the PC) and it was fixed within minutes. 2 of my friends have also purchased off them and are happy. Maybe the guy that started this thread should contact them and ask for assistance. Sounds like he has no understanding of how machine works. I have been talking to them reciently on getting an upgrade and going with their new system thatís advertised on the website as it has a lot more different emulators (a bigger system).

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    State
    Atwell Perth
    Posts
    3,382
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Quoted
    284 Post(s)
    2 posts in 2 years, both promoting the seller

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •