• Enraged
  • Embarrased
  • Drunk
  • Down
  • Depressed
  • Crying
  • Crazy
  • Cool
  • Cocky
  • Bemused
  • Awesome
  • Annoyed
  • Angry
  • Amused
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  0
    Likes Likes:  0
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Thread: [WANTED] Somebody that can help me fixing a CPS2 B-Board (Xmen vs. SF)

    1. #1
      mtn is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      State
      New South Wales
      Posts
      54
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      6 Post(s)
      Australia

      [WANTED] Somebody that can help me fixing a CPS2 B-Board (Xmen vs. SF)

      I recently acquired a used CPS A+B combo with Xmen vs. SF. I worked great for a couple of hours but then crashed (garbled video output) on Day 2 while playing. When I turned on the arcade the next day I was greeted (quite literally as you may notice ) by some garbled output on the screen.

      From what I read this will likely NOT a suicide situation, as the board doesn't show a solid coloured screen but garbled gfx output.

      Any suggestions how to fix this myself are welcome. Otherwise it would be awesome to know if there's somebody that has a great track-record on troubleshooting and fixing CPS2 boards. I'm located in Sydney but would certainly pay for the repair incl. shipping both ways.

      Thank you guys!

      IMG_0114.JPG


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade

    2. #2
      dragonlee's Avatar
      dragonlee is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Friendly
       

      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      State
      melbourne
      Posts
      6,027
      Mentioned
      217 Post(s)
      Quoted
      880 Post(s)
      Lebanon
      Voltage issue

    3. #3
      mtn is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      State
      New South Wales
      Posts
      54
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      6 Post(s)
      Australia

      Quote Originally Posted by dragonlee View Post
      Voltage issue
      Thanks mate! Can you elaborate a bit on your theory? I tried it in another cabinet with the same results.

    4. #4
      mtn is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      State
      New South Wales
      Posts
      54
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      6 Post(s)
      Australia

      I gave the the edge connector (using a pencil eraser), as well as both boards a good clean again. I also reseated them one more time. No luck =( As I already tried the setup on another cabinet, it doesn't seem that +5V is the issue.

    5. #5
      xodaraP is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Wtf
       

      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      State
      Gold Coast, Queensland
      Posts
      883
      Mentioned
      20 Post(s)
      Quoted
      214 Post(s)
      Australia
      Seperate and reseat the 2 boards - try another A board if you have one. Ideally you need to open your B board and check to see if the battery has died, it's usually a solid colour when it suicides but not always.

      If it's suicided, I can fix it for you by either replacing the EPROMs with decrypted code or installing a new battery and reloading the decryption keys.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    6. #6
      mtn is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      State
      New South Wales
      Posts
      54
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      6 Post(s)
      Australia

      Cheers mate. I reseated the two boards a couple of times by now and also checked the battery which is still at 3.6V. I'll get another A board, hopefully by end of next week, and will see if that fixes it.

      I'll keep you all posted on that!

    7. #7
      xodaraP is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Wtf
       

      Join Date
      Sep 2015
      State
      Gold Coast, Queensland
      Posts
      883
      Mentioned
      20 Post(s)
      Quoted
      214 Post(s)
      Australia
      If another A board gives you the same issue, it's either a voltage issue as dragonlee said and neither of your cabs is giving enough, or a ROM or some other part has failed, but keep us posted


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    8. #8
      mtn is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      State
      New South Wales
      Posts
      54
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      6 Post(s)
      Australia

      Quick update. While I haven't received the other A board yet, I checked the actual voltage coming from the PSU it was connected to when it suddenly stopped failing on Day 2. It was 5.4V and 12.1V... So maybe that was a little bit too much? I should have checked that when I received the arcade a few weeks back. Lesson learned... :# I now corrected the voltage to be 5.1V and 12.1V..

      All measurements were done while another board was connected (RPi3 + RaspberryJAMMA) and running a game... So yeah, during load

    9. #9
      Mick80's Avatar
      Mick80 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Sep 2017
      State
      NSW
      Posts
      270
      Mentioned
      2 Post(s)
      Quoted
      73 Post(s)
      Australia
      Quote Originally Posted by mtn View Post
      Quick update. While I haven't received the other A board yet, I checked the actual voltage coming from the PSU it was connected to when it suddenly stopped failing on Day 2. It was 5.4V and 12.1V... So maybe that was a little bit too much? I should have checked that when I received the arcade a few weeks back. Lesson learned... :# I now corrected the voltage to be 5.1V and 12.1V..

      All measurements were done while another board was connected (RPi3 + RaspberryJAMMA) and running a game... So yeah, during load
      How did things end up? Happy ending?

    10. #10
      mtn is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      State
      New South Wales
      Posts
      54
      Mentioned
      1 Post(s)
      Quoted
      6 Post(s)
      Australia

      Still waiting to get my hands on another (grey) A board, so I can tell if it's a A or B that broke.

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •