Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 79

Thread: A guide to connecting your Windows PC to an SD CRT TV, PVM or Arcade Monitor

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    State
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,208
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Quoted
    512 Post(s)

    I just used a hdmi to component converter box into the hd crt,wasn't running at 240p though

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    State
    Tasmania
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Quoted
    467 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by vintage View Post
    I just used a hdmi to component converter box into the hd crt,wasn't running at 240p though
    That will certainly work, but it's not the ideal solution. Far easier if you're not already set up for and clued into the ideal solution though, it has to be said

    HDMI-to-component conversion is digital-to-analogue in most cases, and the downside to that is that even a good quality unit will create a frame or two of lag. HDMI maxes out at 1080p@60Hz, and the image quality will suffer in inverse proportion to how much you paid for the converter. In addition to which, most HD CRT TV's run any signal through the processing chain, not just ones that need upscaling, which will add even more lag. Some people are really picky about this, others don't notice so much.

    240p would be an unusual resolution to deliver via HDMI anyway. Even if you could work out how to get your GPU to output it, I'd guess that no converter box would know what to do with it. A better box might have a choice of output resolutions, and some picture options, but that's about as much as you can hope for, AFAIK.

    Essentially these are covered under section g) in in the guide. I've added a little more information to that part thanks to your post

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    State
    Tasmania
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Quoted
    467 Post(s)

    Can i have a volunteer? Who would like to find out what using ToastyX's Nvidia Pixel Clock Patcher over newer Nvidia drivers on Win10 then allows you to install and use 15kHz video modes? I'm not game right now

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    State
    Ohio
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Hey how's it going? I read over your thread and it seems like it will be a very good resource I hope it spreads to everybody looking. Only a couple months ago I made my own CRT_Emudriver setup and had to wade through a lot of misinformation. I though I would comment when I noticed you mentioned not really being aware of a VGA-SCART cable that properly combines sync. I had no knowledge of soldering or anything such as that to make my own cord so I was lucky to stumble across a cord on Ebay from a seller in Spain that worked right out the gate, after having already purchased a cable once already that wasn't what I was really looking for. I'd like to share a link for the VGA-SCART cord I personally use in my setup, and looking at other options like the UMSA converter, probably the cheapest method: https://www.ebay.com/i/141663388712?chn=ps&dispItem=1 I joined just before posting this so hopefully this link is allowed. Hope this helps!

    Another clarification I can help you make is about your post listing recommended and not recommended VGA to Component converters, I own the one you currently have linked as not recommended, I can vouch that it does seem to give me a slight static noise scrolling through my picture, I'm currently gambling on a second converter from the same seller and I will let anybody know if it gives me the same issue or not, so far though the noise is not enough to be a humongous problem. I also thought it was worth noting that it does in fact pass through any resolution though, no scaling in case there was any confusion about that converter

    Also in regards to your last post I remember when I was learning how to set all this up I was initially intending to use my primary GPU, a GTX 980, with ToastyX's patcher and I was still not able to properly push through anything 15khz, I was attempting to use both CRU and Powerstrip neither seemed to do it so it was at that point I just went and picked up an AMD
    Last edited by Abwezi; 23rd July 2017 at 08:15 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    State
    Cairns
    Posts
    13,847
    Mentioned
    456 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3734 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Abwezi View Post
    Hey how's it going? I read over your thread and it seems like it will be a very good resource I hope it spreads to everybody looking. Only a couple months ago I made my own CRT_Emudriver setup and had to wade through a lot of misinformation. I though I would comment when I noticed you mentioned not really being aware of a VGA-SCART cable that properly combines sync. I had no knowledge of soldering or anything such as that to make my own cord so I was lucky to stumble across a cord on Ebay from a seller in Spain that worked right out the gate, after having already purchased a cable once already that wasn't what I was really looking for. I'd like to share a link for the VGA-SCART cord I personally use in my setup: https://www.ebay.com/i/141663388712?chn=ps&dispItem=1 I joined just before posting this so hopefully this link is allowed. Hope this helps!

    Also in regards to your last post I remember when I was learning how to set all this up I was initially intending to use my primary GPU, a GTX 980, with ToastyX's patcher and I was still not able to properly push through anything 15khz, I was attempting to use both CRU and Powerstrip neither seemed to do it so it was at that point I just went and picked up an AMD
    Welcome to AA

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    State
    VIC
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    85 Post(s)
    Quoted
    365 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by buttersoft View Post
    240p would be an unusual resolution to deliver via HDMI anyway. Even if you could work out how to get your GPU to output it, I'd guess that no converter box would know what to do with it.
    This can work really well actually, although the quality of converter makes or breaks it. If there's no framebuffer used in the digital to analog conversion there's sub frame lag so that's no issue. Analog 15.7kHz resolutions and even tweaked modelines with adjusted porch info can be transferred over HDMI without any issues. Directly outputting low res over VGA may be better due to configuration options and driver support though (and not having to worry about digital to analog conversion at all).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    State
    Tasmania
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Quoted
    467 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by dee2eR View Post
    This can work really well actually, although the quality of converter makes or breaks it. If there's no framebuffer used in the digital to analog conversion there's sub frame lag so that's no issue. Analog 15.7kHz resolutions and even tweaked modelines with adjusted porch info can be transferred over HDMI without any issues. Directly outputting low res over VGA may be better due to configuration options and driver support though (and not having to worry about digital to analog conversion at all).
    Are we talking linux, there? Or RPi? The thread is about windows

    HDMI is a digital replacement for analog video standards.
    I was under the impression the standard itself didn't allow for analog video, let alone in Windows. I've never heard of a PCI GPU that will do analog over HDMI. As in, by the time you get to cards with HDMI, the DVI-I port would be the only analog port left. That said, I'm curious as to what you'd recommend to get 15kHz over HDMI, and which converters you'd go for.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    State
    VIC
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned
    85 Post(s)
    Quoted
    365 Post(s)
    I was just talking in terms of hardware. The signal on HDMI is not analog but it does contain all of the information needed to convert it to analog, it carries stuff like front and back porch that as far as I know are not used by modern displays (maybe I'm wrong about that...). I've converted higher resolutions from Windows without any issue before but admittedly I haven't tried 15kHz. No reason Windows couldn't do low res over HDMI though, maybe lack of software support. Low res on VGA through Windows is well established and works great I wouldn't recommend trying anything else if that is an option. If you had to go HDMI to analog conversion anything that has no scaler, framebuffer or other features should work best, if you can adjust the output resolution or picture position from the converter it is doing more than just digital to analog conversion and will definately cause some sort of lag and probably degrade the picture quality too.

    Appolgies if it sounded like I was trying to derail the thread.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    State
    Tasmania
    Posts
    1,448
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Quoted
    467 Post(s)

    I'd bet any digital-to-analog video converter that can operate without a framebuffer will be expensive. I'm also not convinced there's a need for one, minus this obscure application we're discussing. Does anyone make one? Specialist applications in the past might have, low res screens in cars, etc, but those would be on an industrial scale. Nowdays anything worth more than a few dollars has a tiny but high-res screen.

    The main problem would still be getting 15kHz over HDMI for consumer use. It's a driver issue. None of them will permit it, save possibly the Quadro/Firepro cards, and even that's a guess. It's the same issue you run into without crt_emudriver or a similar solution for analogue video. I know crt_emudriver won't touch the digital video ports though, so there might actually be some sort of hardware limit there. Or Calamity simply had no reason to bother with it, given the above.

    Can it be done on Linux, do you know?

    I think this is all relevant information. In the guide I went to the trouble of outlining methods I knew didn't work to get 15kHz, so at worst this is expanding on that. If it turns out this is a viable method, then it becomes another solution instead
    Last edited by buttersoft; 24th July 2017 at 11:35 AM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    State
    Ohio
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Abwezi View Post
    Another clarification I can help you make is about your post listing recommended and not recommended VGA to Component converters, I own the one you currently have linked as not recommended, I can vouch that it does seem to give me a slight static noise scrolling through my picture, I'm currently gambling on a second converter from the same seller and I will let anybody know if it gives me the same issue or not, so far though the noise is not enough to be a humongous problem. I also thought it was worth noting that it does in fact pass through any resolution though, no scaling in case there was any confusion about that converter
    Update on this. Fixed the visual static by getting a new power cable. Other than that great image. I suppose because I recieved a faulty power cable first purchase though I'd still recommend one of the slightly more expensive more reliable sellers but I definitely wouldn't knock this converter too hard for someone on a tighter budget, works perfectly for me now


Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •