• Enraged
  • Embarrased
  • Drunk
  • Down
  • Depressed
  • Crying
  • Crazy
  • Cool
  • Cocky
  • Bemused
  • Awesome
  • Annoyed
  • Angry
  • Amused
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Page 30 of 30 FirstFirst ... 20282930
    Results 291 to 300 of 300

    Thread: CRT TV EEPROM & Micom hacking for RGB (+tube swap for 48cm to 51cm TV)

    1. #291
      Claude is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      May 2007
      State
      Brisbane (Northside)
      Posts
      1,336
      Mentioned
      3 Post(s)
      Quoted
      89 Post(s)

      Quote Originally Posted by MarkOZLAD View Post
      Pin 8 will force a change to AV Input when the 12V is detected.

      If you change the AV input manually you’re doing the same thing.

      Pin 8 more handy if your TV starts at the tuner.


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade
      After probably asking 3 times and you giving me the same answer and trying it out it has finally sunk in

      I need to have 12v on SCART pin 8 as this tv starts in the tuner input.

    2. #292
      MarkOZLAD is offline
      is still obsessed with RGB
      modding
       
      Geeky
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      State
      NSW
      Posts
      744
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Quoted
      218 Post(s)
      Australia

      CRT TV EEPROM & Micom hacking for RGB (+tube swap for 48cm to 51cm TV)

      You might be able to use 5V if you remove some resistance from the Pin 8 circuit.

      5V might “just work” without modification.


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade

    3. #293
      Claude is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      May 2007
      State
      Brisbane (Northside)
      Posts
      1,336
      Mentioned
      3 Post(s)
      Quoted
      89 Post(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by MarkOZLAD View Post
      You might be able to use 5V if you remove some resistance from the Pin 8 circuit.

      5V might “just work” without modification.


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade
      I haven’t as yet worked out the pin 8 circuit as the schematic is very hard to read.

      I will have to park my little project as I have renos and ‘real’ work to do but I needed to make sure I could get RGB on this TV as I want to use it in a small cab build and need to plan for it.

      Thanks again guys for all your help.

    4. #294
      MarkOZLAD is offline
      is still obsessed with RGB
      modding
       
      Geeky
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      State
      NSW
      Posts
      744
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Quoted
      218 Post(s)
      Australia
      Quote Originally Posted by Claude View Post
      I haven’t as yet worked out the pin 8 circuit as the schematic is very hard to read.

      I will have to park my little project as I have renos and ‘real’ work to do but I needed to make sure I could get RGB on this TV as I want to use it in a small cab build and need to plan for it.

      Thanks again guys for all your help.
      Just looking at the circuit for Pin 8. Certainly not straightforward. I would need to print it out on large paper and analyse it if I was going to attempt it. Not good! No wonder it's stumping you!

    5. #295
      Claude is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      May 2007
      State
      Brisbane (Northside)
      Posts
      1,336
      Mentioned
      3 Post(s)
      Quoted
      89 Post(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by MarkOZLAD View Post
      Just looking at the circuit for Pin 8. Certainly not straightforward. I would need to print it out on large paper and analyse it if I was going to attempt it. Not good! No wonder it's stumping you!
      I’m wondering if it might be easier to bypass the circuit and just wire in and jumper the bare bones components and path needed to achieve the AV switching once I get a better handle on how it’s handled on other Tv’s that use the same jungle chip or at least a jungle chip with similar specs for that related pin.

    6. #296
      MarkOZLAD is offline
      is still obsessed with RGB
      modding
       
      Geeky
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      State
      NSW
      Posts
      744
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Quoted
      218 Post(s)
      Australia
      Quote Originally Posted by Claude View Post
      I’m wondering if it might be easier to bypass the circuit and just wire in and jumper the bare bones components and path needed to achieve the AV switching once I get a better handle on how it’s handled on other Tv’s that use the same jungle chip or at least a jungle chip with similar specs for that related pin.
      Scart Pin 8 functionality is generally implemented a little less straightforward than the fast blanking for RGB insertion. Sometimes the pin 8 voltage goes to an AV switch, sometimes it goes to the micro-controller into a custom programmed pin.

    7. #297
      MarkOZLAD is offline
      is still obsessed with RGB
      modding
       
      Geeky
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      State
      NSW
      Posts
      744
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Quoted
      218 Post(s)
      Australia
      Quote Originally Posted by Claude View Post
      I haven’t as yet worked out the pin 8 circuit as the schematic is very hard to read.

      I will have to park my little project as I have renos and ‘real’ work to do but I needed to make sure I could get RGB on this TV as I want to use it in a small cab build and need to plan for it.

      Thanks again guys for all your help.
      Whilst I think of it.

      Does the set have an AV button on the front? If so, have you tried holding it down while the set powers up?


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade

    8. #298
      buttersoft's Avatar
      buttersoft is offline
      is chasing the beam
       
      Meh
       

      Join Date
      Mar 2015
      State
      Tasmania
      Posts
      1,091
      Mentioned
      50 Post(s)
      Quoted
      364 Post(s)
      Australia

      Quote Originally Posted by MarkOZLAD View Post
      Does the set have an AV button on the front? If so, have you tried holding it down while the set powers up?
      Never heard of that one. What does it do?

    9. #299
      Claude is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      ----
       

      Join Date
      May 2007
      State
      Brisbane (Northside)
      Posts
      1,336
      Mentioned
      3 Post(s)
      Quoted
      89 Post(s)
      Quote Originally Posted by MarkOZLAD View Post
      Whilst I think of it.

      Does the set have an AV button on the front? If so, have you tried holding it down while the set powers up?


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade
      Just tried it and the set won’t turn on if the AV button is pressed.

      I’m sure there would be an off the shelf relay that could be wired in place of the AV button that could do a momentary contact closure after a second of being power on. Or a more elegant solution.

    10. #300
      MarkOZLAD is offline
      is still obsessed with RGB
      modding
       
      Geeky
       

      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      State
      NSW
      Posts
      744
      Mentioned
      14 Post(s)
      Quoted
      218 Post(s)
      Australia
      Quote Originally Posted by buttersoft View Post
      Never heard of that one. What does it do?
      Missed this post @buttersoft

      Some TVs will go straight to AV if you hold down the AV button on startup. Can then short this button to make it always start up in AV


      Sent from my iPhone using Aussie Arcade

    Page 30 of 30 FirstFirst ... 20282930

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •