State
    NH
    Mentioned
    83 Post(s)
    Quoted
    318 Post(s)

Wiring/Microswitch Questions

Hello,

So I bought a different Sanwa stick in error but want to use it anyway. The item is a JLF-TP-8YT.

The controller came with a partial wiring harness where one side fits nicely into the controller and the other side, five loose wires, will need to be plugged into the board in some manner. For whatever reason, instead of having a clip that will allow an easy plugin to the board, I have only these loose wires. I'm very new to this sort of thing so I'm currently at a loss as to how to move forward. Can I locally buy a clip? Are these common electronic parts? If so, do the wire just slip into the clip? Does it matter what order the wires are in?

Attachment 94724

Again, for anyone that could easily answer these questions, it will be clear that I'm quite new to this and that I'm no electronic techie.

The second question is about microswitches for a Sanwa stick. I do not have the item number for this other stick. I was having trouble with occasional sticking and assumed that the microswitches were the issue as I've had the controller for some time now. The microswitches have no part number whatsoever, rather they are all black, say Sanwa on them and have a picture of what appears to be a little elephant. I tried inserting extra microswitches I already had from xarcade that appeared to be the same size with no luck. While I was able to have the stick work, movements become ultra sticky requiring several commands to make desired movements during game play.

Are these microswitches common parts? Do I have to only use Sanwa switches? Should I be able to buy switches locally?

As you may guess, I'm anxious to resolve these questions in order to get these sticks into game play!

This post is a starting point. If anyone could answer these questions, or lead me down a better path than my current baffled state, it would most appreciated.

Thanks!

State
    Cairns