Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

Star Trek TNG Pinball - buyer questions

I am considering purchasing my first ever pin. What sort of questions should I be asking the seller? Should the rubbers be new/replaced? Play field waxed? Bumper tension? Play field angle?

I am looking at ~5000-7000 $USD for a range.

Any help greatly appreciated!

You are planning on importing a game from the USA?

Don't

There are dealers here who can sell you a game

I am by no means an expert and there are plenty of people around who know more than I do, but I think the most important this is that all the switches and mechanical features of the game work.

Stuff like old rubbers and a dirty playfield might be an indicator of how well the game is looked after, but the way i see it is that cleaning and replacing rubbers is part of the hobby.

Maybe the best thing to do would be to look up common issues for that particular game and make sure those parts are working. Try to find out if any parts are rare or hard to get and make sure they are in okay condition.

Go into the menu and see if there are any errors.

Biggest 2 things with STTNG error wise would be check the cannons all work and opto switches in them (has a wiring harness that goes down through playfield that can rub and break wires - its not that hard to repair, just takes some time), and the trough optos all work. Replacement boards are available, but may add some cost.

Other than that, the green sheild inserts can move a little, and wear can ve around the neutral zone hole.

At US5000-7000 it would want to be pretty nice (i am not up to US prices), i recently sold mine that had an almost perfect playfield, all LEDs, new rubbers and balls and very nice cabinet for $4300

Great Game.

7000 would want to be mint condition with extras in Australian market.

Rob M is on the money with the common problems.