Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

CRT Monitor Problem

dunnoz

Question

Hi All,

First, I'm new to the arcade fixing stuff so needing some advice on what to do.

I bought a candy cab as a "project" with a broken monitor chassis.

Got Jomac to fix the chassis.

Plugged chassis to CRT and a multi-game board but no picture, controls work and sound works.

I don't know if there's power going to the CRT or how to check... i assume the yoke should light up? if so it's not on.

Any advice on next steps?

Thanks

10 answers to this question

Have you checked all of your connectors?

1) Ensure that the neckboard is plugged into the neck and that the ground wire that connects to the wire around the tube is plugged into the neckboard.

2) Ensure that you have your 240/110V from the cabinet power to the chassis. It will usually be a two prong plug that runs from the bottom of the cab.

3) Ensure that you have your JAMMA video connectors connected to the chassis, this is what will give you a picture. It will be a plug with usually 5 wires. Red, Green, Blue and then black for ground and white or yellow for video sync. The wires will run back into the JAMMA harness.

4) Ensure that you have the chassis plugged into the yoke. This is a big plug with 4 wires in two matched pairs. Red and blue is the normal colour for two, and then usually yellow and green for the other two.

5) Ensure that there is a 'glow' in the neck of the tube, this is how you know your tube is getting power. No glow in the neck no power. This glow is often very faint and can only be seen in the dark.

Yes - check you have the chassis ground pin connected. Across the back of the tube will be a metal braid cable, which goes to a single black wire and a 1 pin plug. That needs to connect to the ground pin on the neck board. Very easily to forget to connect that up.

Thanks for the replies.

Attached 2 pics.