Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Console Power Supplies

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)

    Does anyone know where I can grab a dc adaptor from for the famicom ?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    State
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,734
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Quoted
    549 Post(s)

    Got a Mega Drive 1 or Master System PSU handy? They work fine with the fami.
    SEGA love: click | Nintendo love: click
    PC Engine love: click | Latest retro finds: click

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    State
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Hey guys,

    Would it be safe to construct a step down psu out of one that was in an arcade running a chassis, to use on consoles?

    What would I need to be careful of and is there any other ratings I need to check first?

    Figure I could almost get it done now, all I would need is a Japanese outlet to wire up and BAM! Its should work
    You wont hear from me for a while, epic games testing session!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    State
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,734
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Quoted
    549 Post(s)

    Sounds risky to me mate. They're under $30 landed for a brand new one, will be less hassle in the long run.
    SEGA love: click | Nintendo love: click
    PC Engine love: click | Latest retro finds: click

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    State
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    Yeah I'm not sure, which is why I haven't started yet
    It theoretically should work (I could check voltage first) but I'm no pro...

    Its not just about saving a buck, but using what I have and getting the satisfaction of making it work.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    State
    VIC
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    53 Post(s)
    Probably real obvious but I just wanna make sure, but using an Aussie Megadrive or Master system PSU cable will also work with a JAP Super Famicom(SFC/SNES)?

    Im guessing the PC Engine can also use a MD/MS AUS PSU Cable also?

    In your SEGA section does the MegaDrive examples only apply to AUS or does hat also apply to JP MegaDrives also? Meaning JP MegaDrives have the same cables as our Megadrives but just have different wall connectors?

    Are there any other Japanese consoles that can easily use an Aussie products power cable with?

    Thank You
    "It's always funny until someone gets hurt and then it's just hilarious" - Bill Hicks

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    State
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,734
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Quoted
    549 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by KellyNUTS View Post
    using an Aussie Megadrive or Master system PSU cable will also work with a JAP Super Famicom(SFC/SNES)?
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by KellyNUTS View Post
    Im guessing the PC Engine can also use a MD/MS AUS PSU Cable also?
    Yep.

    Quote Originally Posted by KellyNUTS View Post
    In your SEGA section does the MegaDrive examples only apply to AUS or does hat also apply to JP MegaDrives also? Meaning JP MegaDrives have the same cables as our Megadrives but just have different wall connectors?
    It applies to Aussie & JP Mega Drives. Pretty sure the US also use the same specs but am not 100% sure. I do know that their Game Gear uses a different PSU than the rest of the world.

    Quote Originally Posted by KellyNUTS View Post
    Are there any other Japanese consoles that can easily use an Aussie products power cable with?
    Yep. Off the top of my head...

    An Aussie Mega Drive 1 PSU will run the following Japanese consoles:

    - Sega SG-1000, SG-1000 II, SC-3000, Mark III, Master System, Mega Drive, Game Gear, Mega CD 1, Mega CD 2.
    - Nintendo Famicom, Super Famicom, Famicom Disk System, Virtual Boy
    - Atari Jaguar
    - Some models of the Neo Geo AES
    - NEC PC Engine, Core Grafx, Core Grafx II, Shuttle, CD-ROM2

    An Aussie Mega Drive 2 PSU will run the following Japanese consoles:

    - Mega Drive 2, 32X
    - PC Engine Duo-R, Duo-RX
    SEGA love: click | Nintendo love: click
    PC Engine love: click | Latest retro finds: click

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    State
    VIC
    Posts
    337
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    53 Post(s)
    Thanks so much for that info Frank!!!!
    Almost with every passing post I read in these forums I realise I have to have 'deeper & deeper pockets' ...

    [EDIT]This may help for when X360 becomes retro. With the X360 slims u can use the AUS power cable/brick to power NTSC/J/U consoles which is handy like those old systems. Such a pity the 32/64bit era had internal PSU's!
    "It's always funny until someone gets hurt and then it's just hilarious" - Bill Hicks

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    I'm looking into finding a PSU for my SFC, and stumbled across this:

    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....ht_2596wt_1190

    The specs are pretty much the same as the ones listed for SFC that I found here:

    http://maru-chang.com/hard/hvc/english.htm#HVC-002

    So, by what's been said above that should be fine to use, yes?

    Thanks

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    State
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,734
    Mentioned
    47 Post(s)
    Quoted
    549 Post(s)

    Yep, that PSU will be fine.
    SEGA love: click | Nintendo love: click
    PC Engine love: click | Latest retro finds: click


Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •