Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

Confused about TV's / SCART

Greetings!

I've recently bought a used cabinet in good condition that I plan to use as my first MAME project build. I'm extremely new to this stuff, but having my own arcade machine is something I've wanted for the last 15 years, so I couldn't let the opportunity slip me by.

The cabinet is hefty though, it's an old Golden Tee cabinet, and the old monitor was I believe a 26" but was removed. As the cabinet already has a bezel, I want to replace the TV with something of equal size, so an old CRT TV is probably my best bet, nothing else will fit!

Based on my research, my question is this: Will any old TV with a SCART input do the job? Or is there a specific type of TV that I should be going for? I've seen a few 26" TV's that'll probably fit, but without knowing what I need I'm hesitant to buy anything until I know more. My other question is about the VGA to SCART adapter that I'll need. I've seen people build their own, but can I just purchase a run of the mill adapter from eBay or is there something specific that I need to do?

Thanks for any advice and apologies if this is in the wrong section, I wasn't sure which would be most appropriate.

SCART is a connector standard, not a connection standard, it was an attempt (by the french - Syndicat des Constructeurs d'Appareils Radior?cepteurs et T?l?viseurs hence SCART) to create a single AV connector for input and output that would support the common AV connectivity methods of the time, which is why it is so bulky and has 21 pins.

It supports...

Stereo input

Stereo output

Composite input

Composite output

S-Video input

S-Video output

RGB Component

Plus the relevant syncs and grounds for the above.