Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

T2 power/reset problems :(

snippy

Question

Hi all,

Well, it was destined to happen, been having too much fun with my recently acquired T2...

Last night I was playing it and it reset itself, it was as if someone had flicked the switch of and back on again really quickly.

I thought, err, that's weird, anyway. Tried to have a go today, 30 seconds in, and it just seemed to turn itself off - waiting maybe 5 seconds and it turned itself back on again.

I've opened the head and pushed all ribbon cables in and checked fuses, nothing that looks obvious to me, being a complete noob.

So when it actually powers on everything seems to work perfectly, until it powers itself off. Maybe time for a new power supply ? what do yas reckon ?

Cheers,

Snippy

Hi all,

Well, it was destined to happen, been having too much fun with my recently acquired T2...

Last night I was playing it and it reset itself, it was as if someone had flicked the switch of and back on again really quickly.

I thought, err, that's weird, anyway. Tried to have a go today, 30 seconds in, and it just seemed to turn itself off - waiting maybe 5 seconds and it turned itself back on again.

I've opened the head and pushed all ribbon cables in and checked fuses, nothing that looks obvious to me, being a complete noob.

So when it actually powers on everything seems to work perfectly, until it powers itself off. Maybe time for a new power supply ? what do yas reckon ?

Cheers,

Snippy

There are a lot of things that could be the cause, but here are the 3 likely culprits:

1 - burnt connectors. Check the connectors to the PCBs, check for discolouration or burns

2 - 5v bridge has lost a diode - and needs replacing

3 - if it reboots only when playing, then a diode may have come off a coil, if that happens a spike may reboot the game

The guides at marvin3m are an excellent resource: