Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

G'day everyone

Hi guys,

Im really new to the arcade scene Ive been a PC gamer for bloody years and years, and have only just quit my last job where I was a games programmer with Jumbuck Entertainment, mobile games and the like, fun fun fun... no really :P

But enough about me and a little about the thing my wife is hating more and more every day, my ambition to build a mame tall boy. Lol, oh man she hates it soooo bad! lol

Ive ordered a 2 player set of controlls off ebay, and have made many a cardboard / paper cab 1:16 scale models to get my design just right. Now Im kind of looking for the next step. What would you guys recommend? get the puter and get the contols working or get stuck into the cab and kinda work backwards?

The games im interested are the TMNT / Simpsons 4 player style games, maybe a little golden axe / double dragon and the like, and the street fighters and metal slugs are great. But with such a diverse range of games on my want list is there a minumum spec I should aim to build the pc to? Ive been running them all on my AMD64 lappy for a while but dont know what the real minimum specs would be for these sorta things.

My stab in the dark was a p4 2.4ghz 512mb ram and 40 odd gig of hard drive space, reckon its on the mark or waaayyyy off?

Well I'll be floating round the forums reading what I can, so any help, tips, links to articles and whot not would be sweet.

Cheers,

Mik.

Hi MikGan,

Welcome to Aussie Arcade mate. :)

By the sounds of it, you already have an idea of what type of cabinet you want, (big bloody 4 player sucker), so you can start finding cabs based on that for starters.

PC wise, the rule for mame is bigger the better, but what you described is enough. You have to start working out what will be your Front End (software) and what type of monitor you would like to run, (Arcade, med res, TV, PC monitor).