Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

Monitor selection

nigelicious

Question

Hey all.. new to the site after being referred here by Chris from OzStick (thanks mate).

Decided to take the plunge and build a MAME cab.. am a complete and utter newb when it comes to this stuff. Am using the mameroom ultimate arcade II plans. Anyhow the monitor selection has been getting a bit daunting... thinking of going with a Arcade monitor rather than a pc monitot/tv/stripped tv+ chassis. I'm in Brisbane and locally gamdude have this for $399 http://www.gamedude.com.au/arcade/prod_show.php?art_no=arcMO29inch ... being that im quite daunted by the prospect of stripping a tv and getting a chassis etc, what does everyone think of this particular monitor? I haven't seen any others in QLD that won't cost me an arm and a leg to get delivered.

Hey. Thats a nice monitor.

If you are a total noob then you cant go past a PC monitor because its just plug and play. No JPAC, Arcade VGA card needed. Just an IPAC/Keywhiz.

Those cabs are huge! For your 1st build you could do a retrofit and see how things go.

Welcome to AA!

Well forget Arcade screens then!

If you build a Frakencab the you can leave a 21" PC monitor in its case and practically avoid the electrcution risk.

IPACs and stuff is childs play. Once you have it in your hands it all becomes clear how it works.

What sort of games do you play?

Fighting? Shumps? Classics?

I was going to use a PC monitor originally; I have a 21inch standard (not wide) LCD but after looking at it decided it was too small and wouldnt look as authentic as i'd like. I figure I'm going to put a buttload of effort (and a reasonable amount of cash) into the cabinet so I might aswell do it justice with a reasonable looking monitor.

Presumably, if I read enough about how to safely discharge an arcade crt and take precaution, I should be right... :rolleyes i hope! hehe