Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: MAME on ITX board

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    State
    SA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    MAME on ITX board

    Greetings - has anyone looked at / tried to run MAME on one of these?

    Picked up a few of these boards, and had planned to slip one into an old NES case I have here, for NES/SNES goodness, but had considered chucking MAME on there as well.

    Specs for those too lazy to click:
    CPU: 1GHz VIA C3 processor
    MEM: 1Gb DDR233
    GFX: 64mb Integrated VIA UniChromeTM IGP graphics with AGP interface

    I'd only planned on playing a few of the older games, Metal Slug, DonPachi etc.

    -Nick
    Last edited by TheWedgie; 9th January 2008 at 08:54 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    State
    Melton, VIC
    Posts
    1,030
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    You'll struggle with Metal Slug I think.

    If you target the really old classics then you'll be fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    (^._.^)~
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    104 Post(s)
    I've heard that they are poor for MAME. I haven't had any experience with these. I think the size is great.

    Try it and please let us know your results.
    The Pinny Parlour likes this post.

    The Pinny Parlour Welcomes you to Aussie Arcade.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    State
    SA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Thanks guys. Might give it a crack just setup on the desk here first. Might have to splash some coin and get a better CPU based board.

    -Nick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    State
    SA
    Posts
    820
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    put raine on there it should run no probs it doesnt run neo games but will run dodonpachi and many others. Im sure there is a low processor usage emu which will run neo geo roms if you look around. I know you can run neo geo cd roms in a version of raine that might be another alternate solution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,646
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    62 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheWedgie View Post
    I'd only planned on playing a few of the older games, Metal Slug, DonPachi etc.
    VIA C3 has piss poor FPU performance. 1GHz without FPU isn't enough to get full frame rate out of DoDonPachi. Minimum for that is around 1.2GHz with a good FPU (say, a Duron or Athlon level chip).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    State
    SA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Thanks elvis - I reckon I'll just leave it as a NES/SNES emulator then... MAME can wait for another system.

    (Will have a crack at MAME first tho, just waiting for the RAM)

    -Nick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    7,646
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    62 Post(s)
    1GHz C3 should get you full speed Capcom CPS1 and CPS2 I'm pretty sure. Maybe even Neo Geo. Give it a whirl and see how you go.

    DoDonPachi was on Cave's middle generation boards, and they had a bit of craziness going on with their 2D sprite manipulation chips, as well as needing a bit of oomph to break the encryption on their bullet pattern chips.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    State
    Nowra, N.S.W
    Posts
    364
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It should be about on par with a Pentium 3 500. The general rule is to half the Mhz and then think of it as a P3.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    (^._.^)~
    Posts
    7,309
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    104 Post(s)
    I hope your still at least going to try it. I would like to see some actual concrete results running MAME on this hardware.
    The Pinny Parlour likes this post.

    The Pinny Parlour Welcomes you to Aussie Arcade.



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sega Model 1 Info.
    By Berty in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 1st May 2016, 05:14 PM
  2. Pac Bootleg Unknown
    By Arcade King in forum PCB and Monitor Repair logs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th September 2008, 12:19 PM
  3. Gallag
    By Arcade King in forum PCB and Monitor Repair logs
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th May 2007, 10:51 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •