Likes Likes:  0
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: Questions about using the universal chassis with a TV tube.

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    State
    Launceston, Tas
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    93 Post(s)
    Quoted
    477 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by Wob View Post
    I am having zero luck finding a 59-63cm tube to fit my LAI Cabinet.
    59cm are hard to find. I found a Daewoo one at Cashconvertors in the end. I also have my eye on 59cm Mitsubishi at my GF's work, which is going in her cab.
    I even advertised in the paper, and had about 20 or so calls all for the wrong size though
    Keep looking

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    State
    Planet Express
    Posts
    2,043
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ring a tv repair shop (always a good source. They have a lot of old tv's left there due to the cost of repair being more then a new one) or try a Retrovision or someone that takes the old stuff for you.


  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    State
    V
    Posts
    1,427
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Burra749 View Post
    My local dump recycles.(Brissie southside)
    I buy them there all the time.
    Normally I get 3 TVs for $5.
    The things you can learn in a week *siiigh*

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    State
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    683
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Quoted
    114 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by The Prof View Post
    Ring a tv repair shop (always a good source. They have a lot of old tv's left there due to the cost of repair being more then a new one) or try a Retrovision or someone that takes the old stuff for you.
    Yeah am mate of mine works in a TV repair shop, the biggest in my area. He is getting me a couple of 48cm tubes for some lowboys I am repairing, but they don't have anything between 48 and 68cm. I have emailed the other big repairer in my area, just waiting to hear back.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    State
    bunbury WA
    Posts
    22,628
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1210 Post(s)
    freecycle

    is a place to try. once had a 88cm crt tele on there and as the name suggests free. missed out by 5 mins


    someone just listed a 54cm in my area and they will deliver

    hmm tempting to store for the future
    Last edited by narf_; 4th January 2008 at 09:35 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
    you can always expect change in life..except from vending machines

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    State
    V
    Posts
    1,427
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a 51cm Palsonic here... saving to gut for a lowboy/cocktail when I'm done with my MAMEcab

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    State
    bunbury WA
    Posts
    22,628
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1210 Post(s)
    speaking of teles in the 63-68 range

    was driving past the local auction place and there was six sitting out the front with free sign on them

    now theres 5 there interesting has they have rgb plugs on the backs old as the hills and easy weigh about 50kg (i can just lift it) and about 1m across

    ive started another thread to suss out some ideas with the one i got
    you can always expect change in life..except from vending machines

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    State
    bunbury WA
    Posts
    22,628
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1210 Post(s)
    now i was wondering joey

    do these chassis use the degauss coils on the tube already and the ground wiring or do these need to be removed. I saw in AK thread you get new ones anyways but was wondering as ill be preparing for one of yours shortly
    you can always expect change in life..except from vending machines

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    State
    Perth WA
    Posts
    1,360
    Mentioned
    212 Post(s)
    Quoted
    118 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by narf View Post
    now i was wondering joey

    do these chassis use the degauss coils on the tube already and the ground wiring or do these need to be removed. I saw in AK thread you get new ones anyways but was wondering as ill be preparing for one of yours shortly
    Yeah you can use the originals but some times the plugs are different , so it's just as easy to replace the whole thing with the new ones supplied with the chassis.
    If the plugs on the old ones are the same I just use them

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    State
    bunbury WA
    Posts
    22,628
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1210 Post(s)
    cool.
    you can always expect change in life..except from vending machines


Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Jomacs Universal Chassis
    By Arcade King in forum Jomac
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 28th August 2012, 07:49 PM
  2. My new TRI-REZ chassis from ZAX
    By stu in forum Arcade
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th January 2007, 09:04 PM
  3. Universal Monitor Chassis
    By antali2 in forum Monitor and Chassis Repair Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th July 2006, 02:40 PM
  4. Jomac's Universal chassis
    By humpalot in forum Monitor and Chassis Repair Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd May 2006, 06:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •