Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Connect terminal Ground to FG?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    State
    QLD
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Connect terminal Ground to FG?

    Wiring ground field.jpg

    Is it the correct way to be properly grounded? (would'nt want any shocks)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    17,930
    Mentioned
    266 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1978 Post(s)
    I've never seen a PS wired that way before, with the loop that is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    State
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,673
    Mentioned
    198 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1480 Post(s)
    Me either.

    The FG is the Ground Input from mains and the two GND's are Ground output for distribution. All of the arcade power supplies I've wired in use FG for mains ground and then take your pick on GND for the jamma harness etc.

    Hopefully someone more experienced can comfirm but I would NOT be plugging that into anything in its current state until an expert comes along and comments.

    Brad

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    State
    Adelaide
    Posts
    6,706
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Quoted
    541 Post(s)
    That's not correct.

    You'd probably find the PSU is internally grounded between DC ground and Earth, via a filtering capacitor, meaning it won't show continuity on a multimeter.
    SEGA love: click | Nintendo love: click
    PC Engine love: click | Latest retro finds: click

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    State
    QLD
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question

    actually i found that pic on the ukvac forum, i wanted to know about earths and grounds.
    anyway below is my psu
    IMG_20190915_173946.jpg

    did a little bit more searching found below is more what I'm on about pic from wiki.aussiearcade is this they way the earths and grounds be linked? and should i do this to my psu?
    Arcade_restoration_cabinet_switching_power_supply.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    State
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    4,832
    Mentioned
    122 Post(s)
    Quoted
    514 Post(s)
    There is no problem wiring FG to ground,its been done like this since the 80s,common practice for LAI wired cabinets.
    If you notice on the screen any slight interferance you will probably find this jumper has been disconnected.
    I have wired many different branded power supplys like this and never ever had a problem.
    Its a good little trick to try on the cheap asian cocktails that have been flooding the market over the last 10yrs as it can improve picture quality.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    State
    Vic
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    77 Post(s)
    Yep had to do this plenty of times to get rid of interference in the screen (as GIBO stated) Daytona USA seems to develops this issue over time and jumping the grounds usually fixes it.
    Is this the 5 o'clock free crack give away?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    State
    Barden Ridge NSW
    Posts
    3,760
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1365 Post(s)
    Some power supplys have FG connected internally but this isn't that common. They are mainly separate so you can wire the grounds as you may need such as when an isolation transformer is in the machine or a chassis that must be left un-grounded etc. Atari machines don't always ground the chassis for some reason but there are other brands as well. Anything with a setdown tranny inside I would be checking on the diagram.

    Always run a ground from FG up to the header panel fluro lighting if for some reason you can't connect FG to the common grounds. A lot of people have got a belt out of a simple fluro assembly when the ballast dies.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. .187 terminal quick connectors
    By mick182 in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th November 2013, 11:43 PM
  2. n00b Electronics Question - Ground, Earth Ground, Common, Ground Braid
    By Muggles in forum Pinball Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th March 2013, 01:16 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th May 2008, 07:04 PM
  4. Ground/ video ground question
    By Roxbury in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th December 2005, 09:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •