Thanks Thanks:  0
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Bootleg Pac/MsPac help

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Redlands
    Posts
    19,438
    Mentioned
    174 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2030 Post(s)

    Pretty much
    Have a read of this log https://www.aussiearcade.com/showthr...alaxian-Repair
    of course nothing is 100% certain but piggybacking is just another tool in the arsenal.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    State
    Florida
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    I'll order a couple of those chips, give it a shot & report back.
    Thanks for the guidance!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    State
    Florida
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    So the chips finally arrived and I've piggybacked them onto the current ones & now I get this:

    https://imgur.com/a/olUZYqG

    The red is probably just me needing to adjust the RGB-HDMI adapter.

    Any thoughts?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Redlands
    Posts
    19,438
    Mentioned
    174 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2030 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zwooky View Post
    So the chips finally arrived and I've piggybacked them onto the current ones & now I get this:

    https://imgur.com/a/olUZYqG

    The red is probably just me needing to adjust the RGB-HDMI adapter.

    Any thoughts?
    That's good, it means its trying to boot up.
    I'd socket all those rams.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    State
    Florida
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    When I was piggybacking the chips, only 4L made any change from the all 0's screen. Took way too long to de-solder and put that chip and 4K in, now here's what i got.

    https://imgur.com/a/ZYZvA3v

    Color changed and there's letters and #'s flashing instead of unintelligible symbols. You can start to make out RAM 0 of the self test for a split second.
    Think I'm on the right track, hopefully. Next 4 chips are gonna take me forever!!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Redlands
    Posts
    19,438
    Mentioned
    174 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2030 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zwooky View Post
    When I was piggybacking the chips, only 4L made any change from the all 0's screen. Took way too long to de-solder and put that chip and K4 in, now here's what i got.

    https://imgur.com/a/ZYZvA3v

    Color changed and there's letter and #'s flashing instead of unintelligible symbols. You can start to make out RAM 0 out a little bit.
    Think I'm on the right track, hopefully. Next 4 chips are gonna take me forever!!
    Good work.
    Looking at the manual Ram 0 is either 4k or 4n. If the order of the rams are the same on the Falcon 4h or 4j could be faulty.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    State
    Florida
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    So I finally got around to replacing the last 4 RAM chips and I've now gotten something strange:

    https://imgur.com/a/L0xwzdv

    Any clues as to what could be happening? Did I mess something up?
    Interestingly, there were burn marks underneath all 6 chips.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    State
    Redlands
    Posts
    19,438
    Mentioned
    174 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2030 Post(s)
    Yeah looks like something got damage like a track or maybe a stray bit of solder. You'll have to check recheck your work

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    State
    NSW
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Did you use sockets? If so you can remove the ram chips and check that each pin is connected to a track on the board. Otherwise if you have a probe check the data & address lines of each chip to make sure they're pulsing.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    State
    Florida
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    This is definitely getting frustrating now.
    1. Pulled out the chips and put in sockets
    2. Checked for continuity across the sockets (good where it's supposed to be based on the traces)
    3. Still getting a white screen with scrolling flashing cherries
    4. Used probe to check address (pins 1-7,15-17) & data lines (pins 11-14) and got a pulse on all except 1-3 address. https://console5.com/techwiki/images/7/7c/TMM314APL.pdf

    Does this mean the chips are damaged?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. QIX PCB Bootleg Maybe?
    By immortal in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th April 2014, 04:24 PM
  2. SF2 WW Bootleg
    By immortal in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th January 2014, 09:19 PM
  3. Wonder Boy Bootleg
    By kane in forum PCB and Monitor Repair logs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th January 2011, 09:36 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd September 2009, 09:24 AM
  5. Another bootleg GnG
    By Arcade King in forum PCB and Monitor Repair logs
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 25th February 2009, 04:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •