Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Arcade monitor blue screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,846
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Quoted
    275 Post(s)

    Arcade monitor blue screen

    Hi All,
    I just replaced my MS8-26 chassis with one recently repaired by Joey due to getting a blue screen regardless of whether there is a game plugged in or not.

    But I get the same result with the repaired chassis so I don't believe it's a chassis issue.

    I did find a thread that suggested it was a 5v issue but when I check the psu it is supplying 5v.

    So I'm hoping someone might have a idea on what else to check.

    Thanks,
    Andy

    Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    State
    SA
    Posts
    2,966
    Mentioned
    93 Post(s)
    Quoted
    850 Post(s)
    You could try another game board
    A cheap 60in1 is always good to keep handy for such occasions
    If itís doing it all the time with or without a game board then sounds like a tube issue

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,846
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Quoted
    275 Post(s)

    That happens even if I don't have a board connected

    Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    111 Post(s)
    Does the screen colour change when you move the RGB pots around?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,846
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Quoted
    275 Post(s)

    Haven't tried that yet. I'm going to put the chassis in my 4p cab and see how it looks first. Seeing it's the same issue on both chassis I want to try to discount it completely

    Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    State
    Sydney, AUS
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    111 Post(s)
    And here's another question - I know I've done this a number of times, but I'm making the assumption that the remote board connected?

    I've had a number of times I thought the monitor was screwed, only to find out that I didn't connect the remote board #n00b

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    State
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    1,186
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Quoted
    163 Post(s)
    Does it do the same thing without the video plug connected to the chassis?
    Always remember you are unique; Just like everyone else.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    State
    Europe
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Quoted
    34 Post(s)
    Sounds like a heater-to-cathode short in the tube. If so, there are three solutions:

    1) Replace tube.
    2) Remove short with rejuvenator/restorer.
    3) Isolate heater pin from ground and get new heater voltage by winding a 2-3 turns of wire around flyback core.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,846
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Quoted
    275 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by phreak97 View Post
    Does it do the same thing without the video plug connected to the chassis?
    Yes it does

    Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,846
    Mentioned
    101 Post(s)
    Quoted
    275 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by soyl View Post
    Sounds like a heater-to-cathode short in the tube. If so, there are three solutions:

    1) Replace tube.
    2) Remove short with rejuvenator/restorer.
    3) Isolate heater pin from ground and get new heater voltage by winding a 2-3 turns of wire around flyback core.
    Thanks mate. I have some spares so will be able to check this

    Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. First arcade cab white, blue or red on screen
    By robm in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13th October 2013, 09:24 PM
  2. Blue screen on my arcade machine when i plug in a game
    By Nuclear Neo in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th September 2011, 12:12 PM
  3. Monitor screen all blue!
    By bboy_h in forum Monitor and Chassis Repair Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th September 2010, 05:25 PM
  4. blue screen on previously perfect arcade picture (power supply??)
    By ostybeef in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st May 2010, 09:36 PM
  5. Blue Elf 2 - No Video thru Arcade Monitor
    By jools, ink. in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 26th January 2010, 08:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •