Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: L&AI Neo Geo monitor is failing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    State
    Wollongong
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    50 Post(s)

    L&AI Neo Geo monitor is failing

    Hey fellas,

    I’ve got a Leisure & Allied Industries Neo Geo lowboy and the monitor / chassis is certainly on the way out. There is a dark edge down 1/4 of the left side and the whole display is quite dark - I’ve had to turn up the brightness which is really visible when there are a lot of blacks. I’ve had the machine for about 15 years and I think it’s just had its day.

    So, all that said, what’s my best approach on getting this fixed? I’ve not handled monitors before and am aware of the dangers and precautions. Not knowing what chassis was normally in the machines I’m not sure if it’s worth trying to get a replacement or trying to get it fixed? If Jomac works magic on these particular chassis I’d look to send to him but I’m not even sure if he services these particular models or accepts work anymore.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,875
    Mentioned
    176 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1414 Post(s)
    It's likely a Kortek monitor, as they were very common in LAI Neo Geo cabs. Probably a Kt-26 chassis with a Zenith tube. If you're very lucky, you may have a Nanao in there.

    You can send the chassis off to Joey, but even after he services it, you may still end up with a dull monitor that is lacking brightness and colour. If you have to crank the brightness all the way up and then see the oversaturation and lines on the screen, then there's a decent chance your tube is old and tired.

    You can take the tube to someone local and have them give it a whack with a rejuvenator, but this may not do anything and in some cases, can kill the tube. It's kind of risk/reward when it comes to rejuvenation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    State
    Wollongong
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    50 Post(s)

    Hey thanks for the heads up on what’s potentially in there. So, knowing all that, what would be my best approach? I guess getting knowing it could be the monitor and / or chassis I guess i need to look to get the monitor out, see if it’s worth javing it rejuvenated, or look to getting a new monitor. Might be worth looking to get a Nanao chassis too. So many options, don’t know whereto start... :/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    State
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,875
    Mentioned
    176 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1414 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pando View Post
    Hey thanks for the heads up on what’s potentially in there. So, knowing all that, what would be my best approach? I guess getting knowing it could be the monitor and / or chassis I guess i need to look to get the monitor out, see if it’s worth javing it rejuvenated, or look to getting a new monitor. Might be worth looking to get a Nanao chassis too. So many options, don’t know whereto start... :/
    The very first step is to decide how much money you want to spend on this. That leads to the second step, do you want to stay with CRT? Or move to LCD? The amount of money you want to spend will often dictate that decision.

    Let's say for now you want to stick with CRT. The first step, to eliminate all other issues, is to get the chassis serviced by Jomac. This will involve removing the chassis and posting it to Jomac in Perth. Postage will be around $25 each way for a boxed up chassis and the chassis service will likely cost between $100-$150. So all up, you will get back a nicely serviced chassis, but your tube could still be shit, it's a risk you'll have to take if you want to eliminate chassis issues.

    Now, if you get the chassis back and the tube still looks shit (which is a likely possibility) then you will want to pull out the tube and take it to someone who can attempt rejuvenation on it. If the tube is that shit, you've got nothing to lose with giving it a shot. It might kill your tube, but then again, it might breathe new life into it. Heaps of members on here have rejuvenators and know how to use them, so it's just a matter of finding a helpful local.

    So, chassis first, then tube. If it's all still shit after trying both of those things, then you can suss out if you want to buy a new CRT monitor (expensive and difficult to find) or go down an LCD path (cheaper, but less original).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    State
    Barden Ridge NSW
    Posts
    3,657
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1326 Post(s)
    I have a working 25" Toshiba tube and chassis here. The picture is far better than the original LAI tube and chassis were ever capable of producing. I know this because we were ripping the LAI ones out and installing these tube and chassis in when they were new machines. A simple case of you get what you pay for.
    Should fit straight in size wise...25" Vs 26". Only problem you will face is these tube and chassis are 120volt so you may need to install a 240-120 volt transformer to drive it which I have as well.
    I'm asking $200 for the tube with the chassis and $60 for the transformer if you do actually require it as some LAI did run on 120volt for the tubes and chassis however this was rare.
    I refuse to put this thing in the post but you being fairly close, it should be quite easy for pickup.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    State
    Newy
    Posts
    7,082
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Quoted
    499 Post(s)
    Go to Steve's now and get that monitor

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    State
    Wollongong
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    50 Post(s)

    Thanks pat for the options, I really appreciate that.

    Now, Steve’s offer is probably way more inline with my budget and what I’m looking for. Steve, I’ll send you a PM shortly when I finish work.

    Cheers fellas.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    State
    melbourne
    Posts
    6,472
    Mentioned
    239 Post(s)
    Quoted
    945 Post(s)
    @Pando is it it a 20" lowboy Neo geo ? if so then you will struggle to fit the 25" toshiba monitor in a 20" cabinet.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    State
    Wollongong
    Posts
    315
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Quoted
    50 Post(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by dragonlee View Post
    @Pando is it it a 20" lowboy Neo geo ? if so then you will struggle to fit the 25" toshiba monitor in a 20" cabinet.
    Hey, I’m pretty certain it’s a 25” lowboy, I’ll measure it up when I’m home.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    State
    Barden Ridge NSW
    Posts
    3,657
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1326 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonlee View Post
    @Pando is it it a 20" lowboy Neo geo ? if so then you will struggle to fit the 25" toshiba monitor in a 20" cabinet.
    Hmmm, good point. I assumed it would be a 26" as all our LAI Neos were.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. LOTR flipper failing
    By onetaste in forum Pinball Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th July 2018, 06:29 PM
  2. PC IDE HDD Failing - Can I clone to USB HDD?
    By Johno in forum Computers
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11th April 2012, 05:56 PM
  3. CPS-2 Failing Post
    By fishy in forum Arcade Technical and Repair Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1st December 2007, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •