The danger of working on pinballs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The danger of working on pinballs

I have been playing around with pinballs for almost 20 years now. Today, two things happened to me that really made me think about all the newer pinball owners working on their own games.

Having 2 very young children, I try and be extra careful, working around electricity.
    I was working on an older Williams solid state game today, I was removing a burnt out knocker coil with the playfield raised and the power turned off at the cabinet switch. The knocker is located halfway down the lefthand side of the cabinet beside the power line filter. Not thinking, I started removing the knocker assembly screws with screwdriver when the assembly fell and pushed the screwdriver onto a live 240v terminal. Lucky for me, I have a very good safety cutout switch in the fusebox. This is dangerous location for the knocker assembly and I should have unplugged the power at the wall.

Then less then 20 mins later, I was rebuilding a pop bumper on an old em pinball, these have very old and thick solder, heating the solder to remove the gi wires was taking ages, I pull the wire as I heated, flicking hot solder into my eyelid. What a stupid thing to do, it really hurts when that happens, would have been bad if it burnt my eyeball.

It goes to show, that we all must be very careful working on our games, if in doubt about any live wires, just unplug and be extra safe to live another day.

And wear safety goggles when soldering All sound advice.

Comment

I allways turn off at the mains, I didnt allways, and have learnt by a small buzz lol

Comment

Woka just tests it with his mouth.

Comment

i always unplugg at the mains

ive learnt to never trust a switch recently
          you can always expect change in life..except from vending machines

Comment

Unplug from the mains, don't trust anybody.