Due to a large amount of spamers, accounts will now have to be approved by the Admins so please be patient. ×
IGNORED

Best clear coat for playfield & heart transplant?

Willie Wolf

Question

I'm a newbie to this forum but it looks great. I am in the last stages of restoring a Gottlieb Class of 1812. Cabinet, mechanicals etc done. 100%. Starting on playfield which needs some repainting. I use an air brush mainly, with acrylic paint. I would appreciate some advice on the best clear coating to preserve the surface. The center is mylar and I intend leaving that alone except for a polish. Looking for tips and tricks. Scarey business, mucking around with the play field. Those who know 1812 would know the beating heart. The rubber heart has perished like most of them...any ideas for a replacement. I'm use a glow in the dark ghouls mask at the moment which looks OK but would rather a heart transplant. Any suggestions?? Can't find a substitue. Thanking you in advance.

I did mine - Indiana Jones with Two Pack Clear from a spray gun...

1st thing I did was carefully remove the mylar. Then a light sand down with 1500 grit paper. Then 2-3 coats of clear. Let it dry for a week, then sanded this with 1200 grip and did my repairs (mostly touch ups, fixed 2 holes) and then 3 good coats of clear. Light rub down and a cut n Polish....

Automotive finish, ultra shinny and hard finish...

I did mine - Indiana Jones with Two Pack Clear from a spray gun...

1st thing I did was carefully remove the mylar. Then a light sand down with 1500 grit paper. Then 2-3 coats of clear. Let it dry for a week, then sanded this with 1200 grip and did my repairs (mostly touch ups, fixed 2 holes) and then 3 good coats of clear. Light rub down and a cut n Polish....

Automotive finish, ultra shinny and hard finish...

WHOA! That sounds like a nice finish.