Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

For New Idiots Wanting to buy a Pinball!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For New Idiots Wanting to buy a Pinball!!!

First of all I'm the idiot.
    My question is "whats a good pinball for a newbie who knows jack shit about them?"

I'll be getting a topper on my home loan soon and its either a dedicated Millipede or a Pinny, at the moment im leaning towards pinball because I don't have one..
    Pinballs really scare the shit out of me. PCBs I can repair easy enough but I dunno about pinballs they looks pretty complex.
    Things I'd like in a pinball.

1. Something that will hold my interest for more than 5 minutes.
    2. Parts readily available
    3. Something that doesnt clonk, hammer, clunk, whirrr or spit acid im my eyes.
    4. Basically something that is fun and reliable.

I'll sticky this thread i'm hoping to get a education on pinball "stuff"

Not sure how educational, but I'm not that technical when it comes to pcb's etc..
    Go for the pinny, mine gets way more use than the arcade machine, nohting better than seeing an mechancal device light up and you can interacte with it!..

Other than pcb / chips / resisters etc the other stuff isn't too bad.. I've personally since my 'mishap' with you know who ,was in the deep end with piecing parts together, added extras and have done some repairs, mainly flipper and trough board. If I can do that, and seeing what you can do, I don't believe you will have a problem

One thing I did was make a list of Pinny's I like, then search the Interweb for parts info etc for them!
    Also the DVD's from This Old Pinbal (marvin3m.com) I bought one was excellent, nothing better to see how to fix somthing! see what they have listed...

Comment