Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I've been considering 3d printer options....

Collapse

DIY section. 3D Printing, circuit board creation and manufacturing etc.

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I've been considering 3d printer options....

I've been considering 3d printer options.... for a while now

I have been investigating and researching this a bit in the past few years. I have a friend whom does a bit of it, as well as CNC milling on a micro-mill.

I am a master fitter and machinist, currently training to program CNC machines.

Things have developed somewhat since I began researching... there is probably plenty of writing I could do here, but a few thoughts... considerations

-I think the dual head method is the way to go, using the PVA as soluble filler.

-Dual head vs Dual filament : Is dual filament really that messy?. Is Dual head result noticeably better?

-Heated/cooled enclosure? Heated bed? ... Both?

-Print volume?

-I would have thought the ramps/forming aspect may have a home here, given 3D printer could be used to print custom moulds?.

-What is going to be the most effective way to "sample" or "capture" the dimensions of an existing object? (and generating a 3d file)? M.S. k-nex?

Here are a couple of random references...

Jaycar ....
    Pre-built Dual Filament 3D Printer | Jaycar Electronics

Flashforge dual Head ...
    Forbidden

PVA vids...

Scanning?

... and these...

Comment

I'm going to give the Xbox 360 kinect scanner a go. It should be interesting.
      For $17 It's worth a try. [emoji6]

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Comment

I have a xbox one kinect
        live between the flip and the tilt

Comment