PDA

View Full Version : A new playfield ??

richyrich
5th January 2017, 08:59 AM
Hi all,
I am considering putting a new playfield in my Terminator 2.
I am reasonably handy, however, I am no expert.
Love to hear some stories of those that have tried this, successfully or not.
Should it be left to an expert?
How long did it take?
What is the most difficult part of the whole process?
What would it cost to pay someone to do it?

It seems to me a new playfield is cheaper than getting the old one touched up, then clear coated.
Your thoughts??

illawarra_steelers
5th January 2017, 09:54 AM
it's a lot of fun. have done about 10 all up..rebuild everything as you go. take photos and don't expect to do it all in a weekend..take your time.

Rich
5th January 2017, 10:32 AM
....what he said :)

and you could look at the fine work being done by Dedrok with his Evel resto under Solid State (SS) Pinball Restorations :023:

richyrich
5th January 2017, 10:58 AM
The new T2 playfields coming out are about AUD 1250 delivered.
How does this compare to the price of restoring the original playfield?
The original is not is bad shape, would need some minor artwork touch up only.

swine hoont
5th January 2017, 11:12 AM
post a pic of old playfield

illawarra_steelers
5th January 2017, 11:15 AM
The new T2 playfields coming out are about AUD 1250 delivered.
How does this compare to the price of restoring the original playfield?
The original is not is bad shape, would need some minor artwork touch up only.

just sent you a pm..you can get them fully restored for less than that.

wiredoug
5th January 2017, 11:28 AM
you could get a quote on yours locally from FLAIMBOY http://www.aussiearcade.com/forumdisplay.php/242-AIM-PINBALL-SERVICES

jason1
5th January 2017, 11:36 AM
it's a lot of fun. have done about 10 all up..rebuild everything as you go. take photos and don't expect to do it all in a weekend..take your time.