PDA

View Full Version : Cabinet Mode for Pinball FX2



Jed
30th July 2016, 11:34 AM
This was a funny one, so I've been trialling 'other' pinball apps in my pincab, after playing Visual Pinball exclusively for years, but kind of annoyed with the direction it has taken with vp10, so looking at other stuff.

Most recent to try in cabinet mode was Pinball FX2. (Pinball with extra cheese and hot sauce.) The app has a section where you can 'send a request' to get a code for cabinet mode, so you can have DMD on another display, and a backglass. So I clicked the 'request code' button.

A couple of days later got an email from Zen Pinball's Community Manager asking me why I wanted Cabinet mode ? Well, because I have a cabinet (duh...)

Another day or two delay from the timezone difference and another email came back 'can you send us a picture of your pincab' I though wow, but Ok - took a pic and sent it.

Another day or two delay, get a reply 'thanks for the picture. Where is this Pincab located ?' by this time I'm almost ready to give up, but I restate it is in my garage with my real pinballs. And finally after about a week of trying all up, I got the code. Hooray. I've yet to try it out, a weekend job.

Quite a lot of hoops though, they clearly are worried about Pincab manufacturers/retailers profiteering from their software. Not sure why they don't just offer a licenced option?

Jodannar
30th July 2016, 02:18 PM
Was just an option for me to turn on. Maybe it's been changed?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Snjspiteri
31st July 2016, 07:58 PM
Have heard about applying for a cabinet code also but I just chose the option months ago also no need for sending photos of cab etc etc????

Jed
31st July 2016, 11:41 PM
yeah, something has changed. it's pretty weird, i mean, i could be sending them anyone's picture of a pincab i got off the internet anyway...

JustAnotherRat
2nd August 2016, 09:47 AM
I was going to try Pinball FX2 out but don't know if I can be bothered with this now.

Jed
2nd August 2016, 09:23 PM
I was going to try Pinball FX2 out but don't know if I can be bothered with this now.

If you just want to try it out, you don't need the whole cabinet mode codes shenanigans, you can just rotate your main display 90 before youlaunch, and it does pretty muich the same thing, just no seperate display for DMD or backglass.

Does anyone else have a problem with a flipper staying stuck in position with PInball FX2 ? my right flipper always stays stuck up, until the ball gets onto it, then I can flip. makes the game pretty hard to play.....!! it's only FX2 I have this issue. VP, TPA both fine..

Jodannar
2nd August 2016, 09:25 PM
I haven't had the problem Jed. Maybe check key bindings and reset them or Windows sticky keys


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jed
2nd August 2016, 09:38 PM
I haven't had the problem Jed. Maybe check key bindings and reset them or Windows sticky keys


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


thought it might be the YOHO version I got, but I got the genuine version off steam too just to check, and it does the same thing there.

windows sticky keys, good one. i will check that next time I'm at my cab. I have already tried rebinding, and I'm not getting any weird characters when I just load notepad and press the right flipper button.

I am really liking The Walking Dead, and SouthPark I think is a more fun game than Sega's Southpark.

The tables all seem to be pretty easy, compared to VP or TPA. Much more forgiving, makes for a pretty long game...

Jodannar
2nd August 2016, 09:39 PM
Yeah long games on pinballfx. Great for people who don't know what they are doing just to keep the ball alive.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk