PDA

View Full Version : Pinball ic's



thebrownfalcon
27th July 2014, 05:19 PM
hi all. I'm looking for some ic's for my shark pinball for the lamp and solenoid driver board. The ic's are MC14514B. Looked on the net but no luck. does anybody know where I can get ic's from for this. Thanks.

wiredoug
27th July 2014, 05:21 PM
put the p/n into http://au.element14.com and buy the one with the same package.
maybe http://au.element14.com/nxp/hef4514bp/ic-4000-locmos-logic/dp/386042?whydiditmatch=rel_3&matchedProduct=MC14514B&matchedProduct=MC14514B&whydiditmatch=rel_3 ?

thebrownfalcon
27th July 2014, 05:26 PM
put the p/n into http://au.element14.com and buy the one with the same package.
maybe http://au.element14.com/nxp/hef4514bp/ic-4000-locmos-logic/dp/386042?whydiditmatch=rel_3&matchedProduct=MC14514B&matchedProduct=MC14514B&whydiditmatch=rel_3 ?

Thanks wiredoug. I was about to give up. :cheers:

wiredoug
27th July 2014, 05:31 PM
no worries .. hope it works for you.. if it doesnt then try Homepin for his repro board.

Homepin
27th July 2014, 05:32 PM
Thanks wiredoug. I was about to give up. :cheers:

I would be pretty certain Skybeaux (pinball repairman in your area) would have some and if not I have dozens of NOS ones that came from the Hankin factory in fact.

....or as Wiredoug says, if your board is toast replace it with a redesigned one that won't have the same problems as the originals did/do.

http://www.homepin.com/hanksol.html

Skybeaux
27th July 2014, 06:39 PM
Yes i have them if you end up needing them.
Scroll down the list they are down near the bottom
http://www.aussiearcade.com/showthread.php/36187-Various-Pinball-amp-Arcade-chips-for-sale

Darksoul
27th July 2014, 06:41 PM
I would be pretty certain Skybeaux (pinball repairman in your area) would have some and if not I have dozens of NOS ones that came from the Hankin factory in fact.

....or as Wiredoug says, if your board is toast replace it with a redesigned one that won't have the same problems as the originals did/do.

http://www.homepin.com/hanksol.html

I've turned down a few Hankins over the years because of non-working boards.
Now we have boards we can rely on to get us out of a fix, I can't get a bloody machine!

:)

Homepin
27th July 2014, 06:45 PM
I've turned down a few Hankins over the years because of non-working boards.
Now we have boards we can rely on to get us out of a fix, I can't get a bloody machine!

:)


I'm sure there are plenty of dead Hankin pins stashed in sheds just waiting to be rescued.....

thebrownfalcon
27th July 2014, 08:23 PM
Yes i have them if you end up needing them.
Scroll down the list they are down near the bottom
http://www.aussiearcade.com/showthread.php/36187-Various-Pinball-amp-Arcade-chips-for-sale

Are these the ones...

4514 decoder =$2.00

Homepin
27th July 2014, 08:48 PM
Are these the ones...

4514 decoder =$2.00

Yes.

The 7406's are more likely to be suspect however.

thebrownfalcon
27th July 2014, 08:59 PM
thanks for all the help guys. I'd prefer to fix it myself to start with as it gets me more experience with fault finding on this machine. I bought the machine about 15yrs ago and have had a few problems. But I like the game and don't think i'll ever part with it. it plays well and I like the that it has a lot of drop targets. Anyway, i'll buy some parts from Skybeaux, if it doesn't fix the problem i'll buy a new board from Homepin. Thanks again.

PM sent.

thebrownfalcon
1st August 2014, 03:11 PM
OK. Replace IC1 and still no luck. all the lights that don't work come from IC1. How would I go about chasing this issue. I'm assuming it's an input issue from P1. :unsure

- - - Updated - - -

67405

toads
1st August 2014, 03:32 PM
The original red brown ic sockets on the Hankins are another possible cause. Most of my Hankins have had the sockets re done.

thebrownfalcon
1st August 2014, 03:57 PM
Thanks. the only red socket is on the MPU board. I took out ic1, put in a socket and new ic and still no good. i'll need to work out how to trace the issue from the P1 plug.

Homepin
1st August 2014, 05:38 PM
The inputs are all paralleled across all the four chip with the chip select line being the only one that differs. If there was an input signal issue it would be occuring on all four chips.

I'm thinking it's more a playfield supply to the OTHER side of the lamps issue rather than a board issue???

Skybeaux
1st August 2014, 05:58 PM
Connector plugs and their pins are a common problem with Hankin machines.
Try and trace the wires and check continuity from the lamp socket to the board.

Homepin
1st August 2014, 06:39 PM
Connector plugs and their pins are a common problem with Hankin machines.
Try and trace the wires and check continuity from the lamp socket to the board.

What Ken said - ESPECIALLY on the power supply board - this gives more trouble than any other in these machines

Skybeaux
1st August 2014, 07:10 PM
I'd also be checking under the playfield or backbox or wherever the lamps are that arn't working to see if there's a break in the grounding wire...because a break somewhere there will stop any lamps further up the chain from working.

thebrownfalcon
1st August 2014, 09:40 PM
I'd also be checking under the playfield or backbox or wherever the lamps are that arn't working to see if there's a break in the grounding wire...because a break somewhere there will stop any lamps further up the chain from working.

This may be the case...

thebrownfalcon
6th August 2014, 06:35 PM
OK...Good to say that my Hankin Shark pinball is now all fixed. Would like to say thanks to everyone who helped and especially Skybeaux for helping me with sending me the parts to fix the machine. This machine has not played properly for some years. this site is great and could not have done it without the people here. Now im off to have a beer and play some pinball. tomorrow is another day and I've got some issues with a Gottlieb target alpha. so i'll see how I go....thanks all...:cheers: