PDA

View Full Version : New blank canvas

jaydageezer
7th November 2012, 10:28 PM
I have bought an old what looks like lowboy cabinet with everything in tact but missing glass. I have only made one cabinet which was a red NEOGEO which i turned into a MAME conversion using an old pc.

The question i have is...i wouldnt have a clue how to do anything other than a PC and emulation software, would it be easy to do this "JAMMA" thing or create something other than MAME? How many different parts are required? Are the parts expensive? Where should i start?

I have some PC knowledge, woodwoorking and general building knowledge (The above mentioned cabinet and a timber racing cockpit)

Any help appreciated.

Mikie
8th November 2012, 07:09 AM
Assuming you have a jamma standard lowboy

This means you can plug in a board which complies with the jamma standard which is the connector which has the video , power , two joysticks , up to three buttons per player , mono sound

But let's say you want to keep the lowboy as original as possible , then can get an x in one board and swap it in or setup a pc which will plug into the jamma connector , then no wires need to be cut.

jaydageezer
8th November 2012, 11:08 AM
Wow was i drunk when i posted that last night.....i mean the cabinet timber work is complete with nothing inside at all or the glass.

Are there any "How to" guides starting from scratch.

dmworking247
8th November 2012, 12:38 PM
You'll need some basic electrical knowledge and some patience.

Parts required will be:
Jamma harness $20
Arcade Power Supply $20
Stepdown transformer ($10-$30, approx?)
Universal Chassis $165 + 19" display (guess) which can usually be picked up free. Better option for a beginner is try and source a second hand working 19" chassis+display combo ready to go.
Joysticks and buttons (plenty of starter kits out there, $45 approx)
Coin Mechanism ($20)
Game board (varies).

jaydageezer
8th November 2012, 12:50 PM