PDA

View Full Version : Xbox (Classic) Modding Help

Tipus4u
29th September 2011, 01:16 PM
As a total noob to Xbox's, would like some advice to which way to go for my Xbox.

I basically want to play the games I already have, and turn it into a networked video player, plus add a larger HDD.

I have read about the softmods and still lost on some of the instructions.

Installing a Modchip seems to be easy (Have 23yrs soldering to Milspec standard), but not sure about upgrading the HDD.

Suggestions on easy ways for both will be great.

Mr Pubstuff
29th September 2011, 01:32 PM
milspec? we make punches/tooling for them. loads of guys will be able to help on the xbox work as ive asked in the past and was offered assistance when i needed it (altho its back to ps2 at present)

Tipus4u
29th September 2011, 02:21 PM
My soldering was to the military specifications (milspec) with multilayer board training.
Thought I would start on one of my projects while I have my MAME CP on hold for material.
Next projects are to my MD2 and PS2, then repair my LAI Outrun Sitdown cab.

Davefjedi
29th September 2011, 02:27 PM
Download slayers install cd for xbox after you have it chipped wack in a bigger drive and away you go

bennyfactor
29th September 2011, 02:30 PM
if you put in a modchip then swapping the hdd is a piece of cake
you just install the new hdd and boot from the slayers disc to format and setup the drive
pm me post again if you've got any specific questions ;)

Krumm
29th September 2011, 03:07 PM
Pretty much whats been said above, the mod chip allows you to run unsigned code so it allows you to burn an installer such as Slayers EvoX 2.7 (I think was the last version) and from there you can get drive keys, nand dumps and do whatever else, been quite a while since ive done it but i suggest reading up on a few tutes first to understand what / why you do certain things incase problems occur.

Jaympee
29th September 2011, 04:24 PM