PDA

View Full Version : LCD V's Arcade Monitor

AnZ
23rd November 2006, 08:57 PM
Hi all,

First off I have really enjoyed reading & more reading of these forums. Lots of info & friendly people.
Im completely new to this scene & still learning lots. I have my plans (Mamestation with some mods to design) & Have my list of parts to order. Which will be done in the next week.

The only sticking point I have @ the moment is to use either Arcade Monitor or LCD. This will be a pure mame cabinet. But that said I still want to achieve an arcade look. As anyone done a mame cab with an LCD ??

LCD:
Resolution: Doesnt reproduce cga very well or low resolution -
Cost of 21inch plus monitors is high -
Low power consumption +
Greater cross platform compatability (PS2,Xbox,PC etc) +
No high voltage issues. +
Less heat genarated ( btw I live in Darwin ) +

Arcade Monitor:
Resolution: Need a multi res screen to truely cross platform -/+
Faithful reproduction of graphic in games for mame +
Allows for addition of jamma, neo-geo and the like to be added. +
Heat ( As mentioned before ) -
Parts & Tuning required over time. -
High voltage exposure -

So over to you guys, what do you think, and yes Im after the good the bad and the ugly with your posts.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Carcas
24th November 2006, 01:19 AM
Hi AnZ,

Looks like you already know most of the in's and outs. We can help you with some info but it's your descion to make. I would suggest using a TV running from S-Video. They look almost like an arcade monitor (some picky purist nancy's will argue otherwise) but are alot cheaper with the added bonus of working with a standard video card.

Have a look at this link it helped me to decide.
http://www.cybercoma.com/supercade/monitor.shtml

PS. Welcome to the club.

PSS. How is GW going these days with the new expansion? Seems to have killed all the PVP action.

MadMikeAU
24th November 2006, 01:56 AM
Both are similar. Both will work. But one major difference here...

$