PDA

View Full Version : Warning - Power failure World Rally

robm
15th December 2009, 04:06 PM
Hi,

I am starting to tinker with a Gaelco World Rally game that is in a WEC Le Mans cabinet. I really don't know the history of the machine as i got it not working.

Got a new chassis from Jomac and the screen works fine now.

When i fired it up for the 1st time with the new chassis, it went to a boot screen (i'm completely new to arcade stuff so i mightn't understand the lingo...) and everything seemed to say OK, this screen was there for about 1 - 2 mins then it came up with a screen saying Warning - Power Failure.

I tested the outputs of the power supply and they seemed to read different numbers each time i tested, so i pulled a power supply out of another non working machine, and still get the same message (all these outputs test OK, only suspect one is +12V is about 11.94).

What concerns me is that it no longer goes to the boot screen every time i switch it on - just straight to the warning - does this indicate i've fried something on the board?

The other error i'm getting is i think the game thinks the wheel is on full right hand lock as the wheel rumbles as soon as its switched on. Further to this, when i tested it in another guys cabinet a few weeks back, it booted OK, but he mentioned the car was always veering off to the right.

Thanks

Rob

Womble
15th December 2009, 04:13 PM
You need to measure the voltages on the pcb, measurments taken at the psu are fairly meaningless.

The 12v reading is fine, that only powers the amplifier chip and is not critical, you need to find put what the 5v feed is like across the board.

4_ur_amusement
15th December 2009, 04:25 PM
possible suicide :unsure

AskJacob
15th December 2009, 04:42 PM
possible suicide :unsure

my thoughts too, but I know bugger all about gealco suicides :(

Cheers
Jacob

truxpin
15th December 2009, 06:32 PM