PDA

View Full Version : wii chipping gold coast



Pommie Paul
14th December 2009, 07:50 PM
anybody know anyone chipping the WII on or around gold coast

thanks

dbryar
14th December 2009, 09:51 PM
No need to chip a Wii anymore. Softmod gives you all the same goodness as a chip with next to zero chance of failure. Chips only allow you to bypass region locking and copy protection on pirated discs, and for a current model Wii cost over $200, and are extremely invasive to the Wii circuitry. Softmod lets you;
1. run your own programs (homebrew)
2. run emulators for old consoles
3. backup and run your games from a USB HDD (no more disc swapping!)
4. run the Wii as a DVD player
5. and much more

Pay nothing and use the softmod technique IMO

Basic overview here http://blog.scurker.com/2009/05/wii_homebrew_usb_hard_drive

rod71
14th December 2009, 10:23 PM
No need to chip a Wii anymore. Softmod gives you all the same goodness as a chip with next to zero chance of failure. Chips only allow you to bypass region locking and copy protection on pirated discs, and for a current model Wii cost over $200, and are extremely invasive to the Wii circuitry. Softmod lets you;
1. run your own programs (homebrew)
2. run emulators for old consoles
3. backup and run your games from a USB HDD (no more disc swapping!)
4. run the Wii as a DVD player
5. and much more

Pay nothing and use the softmod technique IMO

Basic overview here http://blog.scurker.com/2009/05/wii_homebrew_usb_hard_drive

Yep, it's the way to go.

I would suggest studying hard before doing it, and making sure you follow instructions to the letter.

Pommie Paul
14th December 2009, 10:57 PM
yeah thanks

but it's not for me it's for a mates friend , He is a total tool he has trouble making a cup of tea , so working out how to soft mod wii ain't going to happen so can i ask if anybody in gold coast can chip or soft mod a wii for a fee , or i'll get him to mail it to me an i'll do it myself , i just couldn't be stuffed if there is someone local to him?

Thanks

Crafty
15th December 2009, 09:23 AM
Mate go the wode if you want a hardmod solution Softmodding requires a little bit of upkeep, and fiddling to get the latest game running etc etc....

haxman
20th April 2010, 12:03 PM
Theres a installer on the gold coast. can't remember his name but you should be able to book him if you use ozmodchips booking/modchip install service.

elvis
20th April 2010, 12:06 PM
http://www.techsick.com/

At Yatala. Crap name, but decent service.

haxman
20th April 2010, 10:59 PM
http://www.techsick.com/

At Yatala. Crap name, but decent service.

Good blokes to.