PDA

View Full Version : Sega Outrunners



lookin
5th December 2009, 09:37 AM
Hi Guys,

I have a faulty relay board for the steering feedback on my dual Outrunners game. Any ideas where I can purchase a replacement relay for this board at all - DC solid state relay D3P-054 (HF29) I'm guessing its the relay and not the resistor or cap. The feedback is in the on position at all times - swap it over with the other 2 player board and all is fine. Finding it hard to get a manual for this as well if you have any links?
Thanks in advance - Rob

Bally
5th December 2009, 11:02 AM
It is an SSR comment type 4Amp SSR

You can find it at jaycar or digikey

lookin
6th December 2009, 09:55 AM
Thanks Bally, you are a legend.

ajd4096
2nd January 2010, 10:30 PM
Finding it hard to get a manual for this as well if you have any links?

Have you had any luck locating a scan?

serviceit
2nd January 2010, 10:44 PM
have you guys tried,
http://arcarc.xmission.com/PDF_Arcade_Manuals_and_Schematics/
not sure if their outrun is the same as the one you are looking for?

ajd4096
2nd January 2010, 11:12 PM
have you guys tried,
http://arcarc.xmission.com/PDF_Arcade_Manuals_and_Schematics/

Already looked there, thanks.

There's nothing like mine, even ignoring the .au modifications by LAI.

serviceit
3rd January 2010, 06:36 AM
What about this one?
http://www.segaarcade.com/archive/outrun2.aspx#bottom

lookin
3rd January 2010, 07:42 AM
Yeah tried there as well. Lots of Outrun versions but no Outrunners about.

Red Series 3
3rd January 2010, 11:02 AM
I could be wrong but i have seen outrunners 2 called outrun 2.
I know of a sited machine locally that is called outrunners 2... Great game (i just bought it on ps3 for $15)I know the op and could probably russle it up but it won't happen quickly.

lookin
3rd January 2010, 07:05 PM
Nah, different game. Its only called "Outrunners" (twin).
To be honest - I Fcuked up, I replaced the faulty relay for the steering motor (force feedback) and all was well. I thought I would swap the relay boards with each other (still powered up - why I don't know) and I put it in one pin out and it blew the relay straight away as well as no more force feedback. I have replaced both relays but still nothing. Thats why I need the schematics to see what else I blew. Apart from that the game runs well.
Any help would be great please.

tony90
3rd January 2010, 07:24 PM
Already looked there, thanks.

There's nothing like mine, even ignoring the .au modifications by LAI.

naughty naughty for not turning machine off..:o I've got 2 machines with forcefeedback s/wheels and BOTH have 110volts running them... lucky you didnt get shot.
You'll have the same problems I've got with a Namco RaveRacer... the stupid thing looks like nothing on klov, except a bit like RidgeRacer, but it's made in Usa, but uses Happ bits everwhere,no force feedback wheel but its definately Namco badges/plated. Guess it must be made by an American LAI type company under licence. BTW you can't take it inside a house... too wide, 88cms, to fit through swinging doors even after you strip all the plastic shit off it :unsure

lookin
3rd January 2010, 07:31 PM
Hmm, I know I KNOW. Still does'nt help find a fcucking schematic. Sorry mate a little frustrated and on the BUNDY atm. What games you got?

ajd4096
3rd January 2010, 08:25 PM
Nah, different game. Its only called "Outrunners" (twin).


Mine uses the System Multi 32 board like this:
http://www.system16.com/hardware.php?id=710
but with an extra board for the networking, about the same size as the rom board.

I've got the same control panels and marquee as this:
http://www.system16.com/hardware.php?id=710&page=1#1970
but my monitors are 50" 110v rear-projection TVs modified to feed RGBS in directly, and my cars look more like the wiggles big red car. I assume that LAI imported the boards, controls, and marquee and built the rest locally.



To be honest - I Fcuked up, I replaced the faulty relay for the steering motor (force feedback) and all was well. I thought I would swap the relay boards with each other (still powered up - why I don't know) and I put it in one pin out and it blew the relay straight away as well as no more force feedback. I have replaced both relays but still nothing. Thats why I need the schematics to see what else I blew. Apart from that the game runs well.
Any help would be great please.

1st step - check the signal on the 2-pin connector on the relay board.
If that's ok the rest is just a simple transformer/rectifier/capacitor/relay/motor. The rest of the control panel will function without the FF.

lookin
3rd January 2010, 08:33 PM
Ta mate, I'll give it a go in the morning - on the Bundy atm.