PDA

View Full Version : Arcade help - xxxx-in-1 button setup



hbk_life
3rd September 2009, 04:02 PM
Hey guys

I just got my xxxx-in-1 board and need some help setting it as well as my buttons up with it, as i have pretty much nfi about it all. I was wondering if anyone in the canberra region could lend a hand?

cheers

Wob
3rd September 2009, 04:23 PM
This shouldn't be in the wanted section.

hbk_life
3rd September 2009, 04:36 PM
hey, no worries, where can i put it bud?

WOKA
3rd September 2009, 04:49 PM
This shouldn't be in the wanted section.

moved.. thanks for the heads up, and title changed to add a bit more info.

hbk_life
3rd September 2009, 04:55 PM
thanks gents for that, its basically setting up the board as well as connecting the buttons. hope someones able to.

cheers

Maz
3rd September 2009, 06:21 PM
Gday,

I've never set one of these up - my 60-in-1 has just arrived and I'm still building my cabinet.

Having said that, do you have a JAMMA harness? What cab is it going in? What are you using as a Power Supply?

Cheers!

Maz

hbk_life
3rd September 2009, 07:33 PM
ive got my cab, I have it all set up from before, running snow bros on jamma harness, preeeeeeeeeetty sure they have given me a kick harness for extra buttons, have all the buttons and microswitches set up, just need to connect them to the harness, as well as make sure im not ****ing up a expensive piece of equipment

and they provide a power supply as well as the standard one which was in the cab to begin with

Maz
5th September 2009, 03:11 PM
I'd be doing the following:

Check you have the correct harness
Connect the additional buttons to the harness
If unsure about wiring, grab a multimeter to test with
plug in harness
turn it on and test


Provided your not running any power through the harness, from what I understand, you cant really go wrong.

Is there something your specifically concerned about?

Cheers

Maz

hbk_life
5th September 2009, 06:54 PM
im just concerned really about my lack of knowledge, and it talks briefly about ****ing it up and damaging it ra ra ra and there goes my board. I just dont know enough about it as im pretty sure i need to solder the 4th button now onto the jamma harness as well as connect up the last 2 buttons. its just a lot of know how which i dont have regarding arcade machines. My goal/hope is to have it all done by next week, so hoping someone close will be able to pipe up and lend me a hand:(

Maz
9th September 2009, 05:10 PM
Howdy,

Assuming this is the manual (http://www.jammaboards.com/arcade_manuals/1066-in-1_Games_Family_Manual.pdf) for your xxxx-in-1, it should have come with a "kick" harness for the additional buttons.

You'll need this for buttons 5 and 6. Wire the buttons to the corresponding pins on the kick harness. These buttons should share the ground from the kick harness.

Button 4 will need to be wired into the JAMMA harness - the manual will show the pinout to be used for this.

The button wiring - You'll want to connect the COM from the button to the ground of the harness. The other wire should be connected to N.O. (Normally Open).

As I said earlier - I havent reached this stage with my cab, so I'm going to throw this out to those more knowledgable...

All the best

Maz

Syzlack
9th September 2009, 05:39 PM
I am not sure but wouldnt there be a slight difference between different multi game systems, eg The RED BOX vs the 1066 etc.

I have the "RED BOX" from Game Dude and that was pretty easy to hook up.
Wouldnt have a clue about the others.