PDA

View Full Version : Overkill?



Diz
6th September 2006, 08:10 AM
Sorry, If I posted this in the wrong area.

I've just semi-finished putting together the box for my Mamer Project.

Specs as follows:
CPU: P4 3Ghz (Prescott)
Graphix: ATI 9550 (AGP)
Mainboard: Albatron PX865PE7 (Pro) / PX865PE7C
Monitor: 19" CRT (bright, clean piuture)
Ram: 2GB DDR 400 (dual channel)
Burner: 1x Pioneer 111D, 1 x LG GSA-4163B (both dual layer)
Audio: SB Audigy & 5.1 speakers
HDD's: 1 x 80GB (IDE), 1 x 60GB (IDE) & 1 x 200GB (Sata)
Current OS: XP Pro & XP MCE (I'm going to installl Linux down the track)
Mame: Just loaded the lasted build yesterday.

Actaully, the above is currently my work box (which will become my Mame box, after I purchase my new work box)

I'm seriously thinking of making it a combo unit Mame/Visual Pinball/MCE

Plus I'm haning out to play Daytona USA.

Crafty
6th September 2006, 09:11 AM
It always pays to have the best system to run MAME on because as you already alluded to, you will not just be using MAME on this PC. By the time you load other bits and pieces on you are future proofing it to some extent..

Viper
6th September 2006, 11:21 AM
Yeah, it's overkill allright.


Actaully, the above is currently my work box (which will become my Mame box, after I purchase my new work box)

But this is what make it aaalllll OK. Regardless of the specs an old PC is always the go for MAME because if you are going to replace it anyway, who cares if it's more than you need. And like Crafty says, you're future proofing.

RetroGame
6th September 2006, 11:29 AM
I didn't think Daytona was working yet in MAME?

Diz
6th September 2006, 11:31 AM
Thanks all :):)

Viper
6th September 2006, 11:34 AM
I didn't think Daytona was working yet in MAME?

Pretty sure it isn't. One of those supported non working ones I think!

Diz
6th September 2006, 11:39 AM
I didn't think Daytona was working yet in MAME?

Saturn emu it is then. The search is underway.

Virgil Tracy
6th September 2006, 11:46 AM
Dreamcast plus wheel and pick up daytona and you are done

@lien_Zed
6th September 2006, 01:11 PM
i have Daytona on CD.i bought it some years ago.it was for a pentium 90.
pm me and we can discuss it further

Crafty
6th September 2006, 01:47 PM
Dreamcast plus wheel and pick up daytona and you are done

Thread Borrow...

Does anyone have daytona for Dreamcast??

We now return you to your current topic :lol

feeras
6th September 2006, 02:18 PM
I do recall playing a Daytona for the PC that used the 3d graphics card. I thought it was pretty good. Speaking of which Ultimate Race was another car racing game that was fun. They'd both run pretty quick on a p4 i suspect...

Diz
6th September 2006, 02:56 PM
Well, i've found plenty of DC's going cheap on ebay (mostly NSW & Vic), no Datytona for DC though :(

Virgil Tracy
6th September 2006, 05:33 PM
Thread Borrow...

Does anyone have daytona for Dreamcast??

We now return you to your current topic :lol

Yes

Working a something for every one, all you need is the utopia boot disk which will be included in the parcel

Crafty
6th September 2006, 09:11 PM
Yes

Working a something for every one, all you need is the utopia boot disk which will be included in the parcel

Thanks, I remember you mentioning this in a previous thread, I'm just getting over excited seeing as I now have a Dreamcast to play with...

PS Can I be close to the top of the list... Please :cool:

Virgil Tracy
6th September 2006, 09:17 PM
100 disks is going to take me a while to do, I am trying to do a few sets.

Crafty
6th September 2006, 09:20 PM
100 disks is going to take me a while to do, I am trying to do a few sets.

Expletive!!! Expletive!!!

That will take me just as long to do....
All Power To you....

And Thanks again

Diz
8th September 2006, 10:35 AM
Update (hardware):

Just added a LG GSA-4163B (dual layer burner)