PDA

View Full Version : Pole Position Repair - 3 Namco PCB Sets



andykmv
20th July 2009, 01:36 PM
==================================================
Ok. Davefjedi's boards repairs.
v 1.3
==================================================
A marker for the beginning of this task, and plan of attack.
These are my thooughts and plans. If i have left anything ou that you think may assist in the troubleshooting/repair of pole position boards, please let me know and i'll include it!

Stage 1. Research & Communication.
Status
- Underway.
Criteria
- Find out all there is to find out. A challenge of limited scope, but infinite variety.
- How many ways can a PPII Namco or Atari board set fail ?
- Keep dave in the loop - issues, progress, at each stage.
Commentary & Notes
:)- See "Stage 1. Research & Communication" post below.

Stage 2. Collect Boards and essential stuff. :D
Status
:)- Complete. Whoo Hoo! 5 August 2009.
Criteria
:)- Only the minimum required to fire up and see the Attract screen needed.
Commentary & Notes
:)- See "Stage 2. Collect Boards and essential stuff" post below.

Stage 3. Initial Physical Inspection & test. :D
Status
:)- Done.
Criteria
:)- Get an idea of the problems experienced first hand.
:)- inspect board sets, cab etc and have a go at game (dave is in the drivers seat!)
Commentary & Notes
:)See "Stage 3. Initial Physical Inspection & test" post below.

Stage 4. Hook up on test bench and document.
Status
- started
Criteria
- establish benchmark configuration details and detailed description/documentation of issues
Commentary & Notes
See "Stage 4. Hook up on test bench and document." post below.

Stage 5. Repair Approach to be taken
Status
:)- Done. Approach defined.
- finish initial Arc Aid(tm) bench setup
Criteria
:)- use a clear methodology to ensure consistent results and best performance
Commentary, Process and Notes
:)See "Stage 5. Repair Approach to be taken " post below.


Stage 6. Repairs - to dos
Status
- TBD
Criteria
- Repeat repair/test process until process no longer turns up faults
- Survives hot/cold cyclic tests
- Survives repeated on/off tests no longer turn up faults
- Survives poke/prod/flex tests with no faults
Iterations
- Cyclic Process of test and repair
- Repeat Stages 5/6 until all issues identified have been resolved.
Commentary - Main repair process
- see "Stage 6. Repairs - to dos" post below.


Stage 7. Return boards to Dave for final acceptance test.

Status
- TBD

Criteria
- Must survive journey back to dave's place and installation into game/swapout with no probs
- Must power up and play at least 10 games before i walk out the door - 20/20 warranty! =o)
- Must work with a flogging every friday/sat with brown glass in hand, for at least one month

Acceptance
- Return boards to Dave for final acceptance test and celebration. is that what you call a "soak" test ? :D

andykmv
22nd July 2009, 12:36 AM
Commentary
As the owner Dave is in control, can call a halt & expect return of goods any time he wants.

Notes
Need more info, Looking for:
- Repair logs, hints and tips on Internet and forums, Manuals, Schematics, Photos
- Parts Sources (especially custom ICs)
Query: Pole Position Manual Sp-219..Does it contain a Namco board set schematic ?
Ans: No. Apparently namco did not release schematics. SP219 is an atari publication. Have not seen Sp219 content.

Background Info
- Switch mode supply 5v rail setting (unloaded - ie with game disconnected): TBA Dave to measure.
- Switch mode supply 5v rail reading when game was connected: TBA Dave if he can recall what it was.
Readings needed at: - Power Connectors, Test Points, some ICs on the board.

Foot
22nd July 2009, 12:39 PM
This should be an interesting repair log, good luck!

andykmv
22nd July 2009, 03:32 PM
This should be an interesting repair log, good luck!

The more i read pole position repair logs, the more i feel i am getting into a bizarre form of masochism! :blink:

Commentary
- http://www.aussiearcade.com/showthread.php?t=23723 (http://www.aussiearcade.com/showthread.php?t=23723)
- Boards only - DONE!- 3x namco boardsets received [1 very good (but issues), 2x bad].
- Connectors - DONE - 1x 18x2 card edge received from dave,
- Connectors - DONE - other 1x 18x2, and 2x 18x2 card edge connectors ordered. (Arrived today 28July09)
- Connectors - DONE - will have to buy 4x MateNLock 3 pin Power connectors, pins. Found some cheap on ebay. (arrived 5/8/09! Whoo Hoo!)


Notes
- Namco (Japanese) boardsets, Not Atari.
- Have PPI manuals and schematics
- Have PPII Namco manual
- PPII Namco Schematic/Board Layouts apparently not available. 28Jul09.

andykmv
22nd July 2009, 11:47 PM
Commentary
- While at Daves we fired up the game, the inspected and swapped out each
- of the three board sets to show the fault as described by dave.
- Not quite the same as the fault in summer (not nearly as bad) butr there regardless.
- jan 2010 - we're in summer and first 38 hrs doesnt show up the same fault. hmm. need to leave on soak longer.

Notes
1. Initial inspection
1a. showed a number of socketed ics pulled and legs cleaned.
1b. No sockets or soldered components removed or replaced.
1c. Possible heat related problem - was worse in Summer vs minot issues in Winter.
1d. Will post some pics of current condition.
2. Test
all 3 boards installed one after the other into cab at davefjedi's place. noted issues:
2a.Board 1 (Good Board)
- unusual changing artifacts near cars. Looks like a roadside post (white) varying in size, just to left of car.
:huh:- jan 2010 - could have been the rear left wheel hub image too. hmm.
2b. Board 2 (Ram 22 Error) - found a loose bit of ic leg stuck between two pins
- we removed it but issue didnt improve
2c. Board 3 (i forget what the issue was with that - might have been
- a dotty screen, no picture as such, will have
- to wait until plugged in for bench test.
2d. Dumb pup underfoot with pink collar. (where did that come from ?)
- Might have been daves imagination - possible symptom of PPII withdrawal, except it kept getting underfoot and I almost ran it over so guess it was real! ;)


<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

andykmv
23rd July 2009, 06:46 AM
Commentary

DONE:
-----
:) Basic workbench structure (top and bottom) completed. Ready to move it to the Garage. (The Arc Aid (tm) station =O) )
The Bench (all 3.6m x 0.9m of it!)
http://picasaweb.google.com/andykmv/Gamerooms?authkey=Gv1sRgCPLPue22jfPiIg#53673636928 48041490 (http://picasaweb.google.com/andykmv/Gamerooms?authkey=Gv1sRgCPLPue22jfPiIg#53673636928 48041490)
The bench with namco ppii getting ready for hooking to power
http://picasaweb.google.com/andykmv/Gamerooms?authkey=Gv1sRgCPLPue22jfPiIg#53673636750 13593346
:) Card edge connectors arrived.
:) MateNLoks arrived.
:)Currently checking namco circuit diagram to hookup power to boards using the matenloks. :)Existing power connections may have been done via Molex 0.062 3x2 connector. Left that lead installed, Dave confirmed MateNLoks used so MateNLoks used for Test Power Harness!
:)started setting up a basic wiring loom to suit using spare stuff. Good Boardset hooked up. No sound or controls in this revision of the test harness.
:)harness rev 2 - added sound, controls and test buttons to harness. added steering hack (quadrature encoder from an old serial mouse - tore my hair out for about an hour until i realised inputs were pulled up not down).


Next:
-----
- still need to add brake pot to test harness then mount switches and pots to a small panel - test driving involves chasing the steering encoder around the desk, and tryin' to find a button in the harness bundle so a bit maddening.
- photograph all boards
- need to draft up board layouts diagrams and identify all ics , especially those associated with video display and video memory. this will give me some layouts to work with, as check lists and to focus on the components relevant to the symptoms described. the atari layouts look to be significantly different from the atari layouts - chip coordinate nos and resistor designations(r127-129 for ex. for steering input pull ups/pull downs) are different for same part on schematics.

Notes
- Link to Optical Encoder - Quadrature Encoding (the steering wheel circuit)
Rotary encoder - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia@@AMEPARAM@@/wiki/File:Gray_code_rotary_encoder_13-track_opened.jpg" class="image"><img alt="" src="http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a8/Gray_code_rotary_encoder_13-track_opened.jpg/180px-Gray_code_rotary_encoder_13-track_opened.jpg"@@AMEPARAM@@commons/thumb/a/a8/Gray_code_rotary_encoder_13-track_opened.jpg/180px-Gray_code_rotary_encoder_13-track_opened.jpg
This will enable me to hack a makeshift steering circuit. makeshift hack done. looks like the namcos are pull u[ps in the steering inputs vs pull downs for the atari schematic.
- Check the system clock and clock chain that all clocks are within spec. This should be one of the first tests!

andykmv
23rd July 2009, 01:47 PM
Commentary

TO DO:
:)DONE - Define approach to be taken.
TBA - build minimal test loom - connections to power supply, test switches, monitor.
TESTING - will rely on demo mode initially for game operation.

Procurement:
:) - have sets of test switches already in hand
:) - have one card edge connector, other card edge connectors arrived 28Jul09 .
:) DONE- Need 4 x mate n lock connectors, pins and crimper for power connection to board sets (2x 3 pin mate n lock per board set). Will have to buy 4x MateNLock 3 pin Power connectors, pins. Found some cheap on ebay.
:) DONE (Provisional) - make larger 60 pin idc cable so boards can be laid flat. have to source idc 60 pin plugs x 2, plus some ribbon cable. may not need these as boards are back to back anyway - just fold out! Process

1. do iterations of test, repair, test on Board 2, comparing with Board 1 as repairs are being undertaken.
2. Identify Boards as folllows
2a. Board 1 - good board hooked up as a comparison test, and second repair subject
2b. Board 2 - 1st repair subject
2c. Board 3 - spare parts in case required then third repair subject
3. if a particular repair solves an aspect of the reported faults, undertake that repair or rework that section of both
boards 2 & 1. use board 3 for parts if necessary. fix last.
4. once obvious faults have been fixed as per reported symptoms, repair/rework both Boards 1 & 2, then re-run
comparisons/tests.
5. once boards 2,1 are repaired satisfactorily, repair board 3
6. when issues are resolved a larger test set will be made incl brake, accel, test buttons, volume, spkrs so a more detailed
test/fault-repair cycle can be undertaken . do longer term tests - running 24x7.

Notes
:(Risk: If 60 way idc cables are not reliable, then - need to obtain 2 x 60 in IDC connectors and i've got plenty of cable (i think) at least now i know where to get them! :)

andykmv
24th July 2009, 06:39 AM
Commentary - Main repair process
- Begin detailed board inspection and clean (Boards 2&3 only) - will do compressed air clean first, and clean with a toothbrush and electrolube spray cleaner
- Check board support strip on each board - boards are sagging in the middle!
- Poke/prod/flex test
- check for dry solder joints and resolder any suspect joints
- check for shorts/loose swarf that may cause shorts
- cleanup socketed chips first and check for missing/broken/folded legs and bad sockets; replace bad/suspect sockets.
- remove and check ics with darkened legs (some of the customs have blackened legs up top. not sure if they have been removed/cleaned yet.)
- Hot/cold cycling test on video section chips.
- run comparison tests on various board components.
1. Check system clocks!
- tag sus chips with amber spot, bad chips with red spot.
- fix bad chips first

andykmv
29th July 2009, 07:01 AM
Update:
harness connectors either arrived or not far away.
bench completed ready to move to workshop.

Davefjedi
29th July 2009, 07:33 AM
As big Kev used to say "Im EXCITED"

andykmv
29th July 2009, 04:51 PM
Update:
harness connectors either arrived or not far away.
bench completed ready to move to workshop.

Power supply adapter plus/sockets for ATX power supply arrived today. This means i can make up half of the power supply connections. come on mate-n-loks!

andykmv
5th August 2009, 01:58 PM
Power supply adapter plus/sockets for ATX power supply arrived today. This means i can make up half of the power supply connections. come on mate-n-loks!

Matenloks arrived today - woo hoo!:003:

Must get out in the shed tonite ,
I/m in for a big surprise.
a package arrived in the mail today,
whos picking it up the wife ?
she'll say "whats this"!
& im sure she'll dis;
when horses could be snug
in a nice new rug..
da da da da da
this chriiiiiiiiistmas.

made space for the new bench in the garage, and started shifting parts and tools out to the garage. Whoo Hoo! ;)
bench getting setup now. finding tools and parts.
setup VGA monito ready for testing CGA to vga scan converter for use with araced boards, until i can get cga crt fixed.

andykmv
8th August 2009, 08:07 AM
As big Kev used to say "Im EXCITED"

Dave,

could you please tell me:
1. do the boards connect up to power using
(a) the pcb mounted 3 pin matenlok connectors (2), or
(b) the added on 0.062 molex 6 pin connector ? if this is the case were the matenloks faulty or did the game come to you that way ?
ANS: The Mate N loks are there, in the harness, no sign of the molex 6 pin connector. Good.

2. could you please measure the voltage output of
(a) the switcher at each pin of each connector per 1(a) above (Connectors are in the harness!)
(b) connector per 1(b) above - THIS CONNECTOR DOESNT EXIST IN CAB HARNESS - Do you want me to remove this connector from the good PCB ?)

and post the result back here ? i expect they will be +5v and +12v (per the namco wiring diagram), but before i hook up the good board to power i want to confirm the voltages to make sure my test rig power wiring is correct.

3. could you also confirm the current rating of your switcher output for the 5v supply and the 12v(?) supply. so i can ensure i use a suitably rated psu. nothing worse than an underated over loaded psu!
:D

Davefjedi
10th August 2009, 02:14 PM
I will get you pics and measurements tonight

Davefjedi
21st August 2009, 05:25 PM
here are the pics of the edge connectors

IMPURE
11th January 2010, 06:51 PM
Any news on this? i wanna have a game when im down at the man cave next time.

andykmv
26th January 2010, 11:13 AM
Apologies dave for taking sooooooo long to get to this stage.
Extra ISO trannie i needed, waiting for since early december, arrived this week, so i can setup another display screen.

Also finished off initial stage of test harnesses (2 sets of power cables via the MateNLok connectors, one for each board set, and one Video wiring loom so far), plugged in the "good" board set and fired up.

The power supply i am using with this board set is an ATX power supply, 24 pin connector, a Coolermaster 550 (550W) which has 25Amp +5volt supply and two 16Amp 12volt supplies. Plenty of grunt in this puppy to drive the Namco PPII game boardset.

The attract mode video is currently looking nice and clean so while i wire up the second Video loom for the second board set i will leave the boards ON and warning up. i have put a cover over the boardset to simulate an enclosure, about 6 inches over the boardset. The boardset has been folded out flat with pcb feet installed on both board to keep em off the table top and similate airflow as per mounting cage.

Waiting to see what happens now!

And Impure, we'll get one back down there soon!

andykmv
3rd February 2010, 11:45 AM
doing a bit every night now - from an hour to 2 hrs. gotta be careful.

test harness
- got a steering hack working for the test loom. quadrature encoder from old mouse came in useful!

namco schematics
- from the steering hack i got going over the last three days i learned that there are some diffs betwen the namco and atari schematics that were not readily apparent. Hmm.

boardset 1
- checked, cleaned and reseated 8 chips on one vid board so far. bottom half of one leg on a custom broke off but has been repaired.
- no change [improvement] to vid board after this was done, so have to keep lookin.

boardset 2
- has japanese writing and speech.
- cpu brd apparently ok
- vid brd has ram 22 error. this board hangs just before the Pole Position Game Page displays, as the basic track layout can be seen scambled just before it gets the ram22 error. poke and prod test causes variation in the ram error 22 display screen. (vertical stripes)

boardset 3
- has japanese writing and speech.
- cpu brd apparently ok
- vid brd has no output

also have two complete atari pole pos board sets for spares (calling those boardset 4 & 5).

Next to do:
boardset 2 - vid brd ram 22 error looks to be the next issue to tackle
boardset 3 - then tackle dead video output issue

spriggy
3rd February 2010, 12:19 PM
Andy
I'm a big PP fan and have sights on one for my own collection in the near future hopefully... hence .. have done a bit of homework on her.

I'm gathering you already have all this info based on your extensive knowledge listed on this log.. but just in case. Very unreliable boards .. and the ARII's 'sense circuit' seems to be a pain in the ass.

Bullet Proof the ARII: http://www.stickycarpet.com/pinx/ar2mods.html
Some interesting comments in this KLOV thread: http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=119998&highlight=pole+position
More repair info and Atari Doc Links: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/82232-13-bulletproofing-pole-position

Good luck.

Davefjedi
3rd February 2010, 12:57 PM
Bring it on baby

andykmv
3rd February 2010, 01:07 PM
spriggy, go for a set of namco boards then if you hate the arii's sense crap! and a VERY beefy switcher. ie 5v at 25Amp ;)

and dave, i'm bringin' it as fast as i can! (cant seem to shift (with a a small toggle sw) , accelerate (using a small pot) and brake (havent got one yet) at the same time as doing a corner (with a mouse encoder wheel) yet! talk about dislexic. just call me crash. :blink:

Davefjedi
3rd February 2010, 01:21 PM
spriggy, go for a set of namco boards then if you hate the arii's sense crap! and a VERY beefy switcher. ie 5v at 25Amp ;)

and dave, i'm bringin' it as fast as i can! (cant seem to shift (with a a small toggle sw) , accelerate (using a small pot) and brake (havent got one yet) at the same time as doing a corner (with a mouse encoder wheel) yet! talk about dislexic. just call me crash. :blink:
So its there any tearing now ?
cant wait till they are up and running must have a welcome back party for them

andykmv
3rd February 2010, 03:59 PM
So its there any tearing now ?
cant wait till they are up and running must have a welcome back party for them

bugga i wrote a nice long and concise reply and explorer crashed during posting/saving the message. short answer is i suspect the power supply may be iunderspec'd but we can put a scope on it to see if that was it, or if not, the travelling to my joint may have jiggled the thing that needed to be jiggled and hid the issue.

have a look at the 5v amp rating for me - my supply is 25Amp.

cheers!

Davefjedi
3rd February 2010, 04:36 PM
-5V = 1A
+5V = 12A

andykmv
4th February 2010, 10:09 AM
-5V = 1A
+5V = 12A

i'll put an amp meter on the 5v rail on each board and note how much current is being drawn by each board and let you know.

here's an idea - if it's a problem with the 5v (12A) rail being overloaded even marginally, then a second supply can take half the load off the original, so if you have a spare switching power supply of similar spec we can run two supplies in tandem.
- use the current one (no pun intended! ;)) to run the cpu, and
- wire the 5v rail from the second switcher to run the video board. .

when we re-install the board sets i'll bring the test rig and the power supply i am using and we can compare the results on the spot too.!

i'll keep chippin'.

Cheers! :)

Davefjedi
4th February 2010, 12:02 PM
No probs mate no hurry

andykmv
4th February 2010, 01:32 PM
Andy
.....
Bullet Proof the ARII: http://www.stickycarpet.com/pinx/ar2mods.html
Some interesting comments in this KLOV thread: http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=119998&highlight=pole+position
More repair info and Atari Doc Links: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/82232-13-bulletproofing-pole-position

Good luck.

any/all extra info welcome ! thanks

andykmv
26th August 2010, 09:06 AM
Status:
Boardset 1 back in cab.
Artifacts that were appearing next to car wheels are now gone.

New symptoms (bugga):
- rolling screen on track selection only
- missing "Prepare to Qualify" speech

Research started on these issues.
- found two threads on missing PTQ and sounds. will follow these up.
- posted question on KLOV on rolling TS screen.
Reply here: http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?p=1314685#post1314685

andykmv
13th February 2012, 12:48 PM
borrowed necro's login analyser on the weekend and also picked up another atx psu to make up a PP power supply rig.
now i have power on in the new shed time to wind up the works again. it has been a long time! :redface
2 namco boardsets to fix, iirc one with a dead cpu, one with various issues.
hoping the logic analyser will make short work of checking all the ttl ics and shorten the debugging time.

---------- Post added at 01:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:32 PM ----------

test rig elements
- namco test harness with the ms ps2 mouse encoder wheel hack for steering wheel etc
- PP steering wheel, shifter & pedals (courtesy of prktkljkr) - gotta clean'emup so i can replace the mouse encoder hacks
- power supply test harness - have to reattach to an atx power supply
- lastly need to setup the spare cga monitor with jomac chassis for attachment to the PCB.

all the test rig elements are there! phew.

coupla days to clear some space, wire it up and dig out all the tools and parts again.

---------- Post added at 01:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 PM ----------

added challenge with these two sets is the roms in japanese.

Davefjedi
13th February 2012, 01:19 PM
Get into it mate
get them running again

WOKA
13th February 2012, 02:30 PM
Andy, i've got two boardset you can have for spare parts..? If it helps the cause.

andykmv
13th February 2012, 06:42 PM
Andy, i've got two boardset you can have for spare parts..? If it helps the cause.

thanks dylan!


What do you have running in your cab at the moment ? A bootleg pp, namco pp or atari pp set ?


Actually there are two causes:
1. davefjedi asked that I send one up to you (I was going to repair it first) but that was ages ago :redface when the garage was in chaos and the shed was still getting sorted.
2. repair the other one and return to davefjedi


Now that I have working power (man it feels good to finally get done) I can finished what i promised to do.


I'll gladly take you up on the offer as it will make it easier to get a good NAMCO set back to you but lets wait for some progress on one set first.

WOKA
13th February 2012, 06:54 PM
Hi Andy,

I have nothing running in my cab.. :(

Flick me your address and I'll get them to you in the post in the next few days.


:cool:

Davefjedi
13th February 2012, 07:18 PM
Ahh we have to be able to get you something in there Dylan.. you need to drink drive at some stage :)

andykmv
13th February 2012, 08:24 PM
[QUOTE=WOKA;609675.....Flick me your address and I'll get them to you in the post in the next few days......:cool:[/QUOTE]


done

andykmv
13th February 2012, 09:09 PM
Namco pole Position Power supply hookup and on/off switch
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-rXCoi2NQZG4/TzjmAUNuZ0I/AAAAAAAAClI/vQG76v_9Ipo/s640/P1050496.JPG (https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/4ZqpGAvZdsoezVSk_aAdNoA1CArCmhFS3JOtEZ7S_E0?feat=e mbedwebsite)

test harness - note the mouse quadrature encoder wheel steering hack! (the ultimate geek sports steering wheel)

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-yfLV-27Jdhg/Tzjl_RyLs_I/AAAAAAAACjE/0bOCZTHwvFU/s640/P1050497.JPG (https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/ZwCSjdGWkeLONkFpdvf-y4A1CArCmhFS3JOtEZ7S_E0?feat=embedwebsite)


steering wheel (lost the darned pcb for the encoder - gotta find that), gear lever and pedals

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-rJYJWeiQ25U/TzjmAvh0UGI/AAAAAAAAClM/pddcOnO7ydM/s640/P1050498.JPG (https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/lNBhIpWgxMR9qHOFkcagCYA1CArCmhFS3JOtEZ7S_E0?feat=e mbedwebsite)

WOKA
13th February 2012, 09:21 PM
Looking good..!

Loving the power supply and the connectors.. Where did you get them from..?

andykmv
13th February 2012, 09:27 PM
the 24 pin atx connector is a "mini fit junior" connector (molex or amp iirc) - got a supply of them off ebay but places like farnell, mouser, digikey etc sell them and the connection pins. need a decent crimp tool to fit off the connectors, and an extraction tool to remove pins,

and the pcb connectors (3 pin) are Mate-N-Lok series to match the pcb power connectors. ditto ebay and tools

ataritoobin
14th February 2012, 02:47 AM
Hey Andy-

Was it you that did a write up stating that two of the four audio amps that aren't used on the Namco PCBs when used in uprights tend to go bad?

My Namco PPII set in my cockpit is working fine, aside from the front two speakers. Probably the case with my PCB :keke: Haven't taken too close of a look at it yet.

EDIT: Thanks for sending me that Irish Atari manual way back - the dip switches in the Namco manual/glued to the cockpit are way wrong :realmad:

andykmv
14th February 2012, 05:56 AM
it wasnt me that did that writeup steve!

ataritoobin
14th February 2012, 06:04 AM
D'oh! Now I wonder where I saw that repair log! :lol Kind of funny, I suppose I would expect the amps that weren't being used to be fine.

I can add any relevant info when I get around to taking a look at the PCB.

For future reference:

34216

34217

BTW - I'm an idiot - the differences were probably because the dip switch sheet inside the cabinet was for PPI and the PCB is PPII :rolleyes

andykmv
14th February 2012, 09:43 PM
there are 4 possible combinations to work thru CPU1 + VID 1, CPU1 +Vid2, CPU2+vid1, CPU2+vid2
have to check the pcb labels to see which combo it is.
combo #1 hooked up for testing. the left hand pcb has a RAM 22 fault. :(

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-ilJiRt7hCOQ/TzpEZem_hqI/AAAAAAAACl0/onkF6O-oh8A/s640/P1050510.JPG

necroscope has lent me his logic comparitor (for ttl logic) so hoping to have spares of all those used so i can do a quick run thru compoarison for each of the 4 pcbs.

when wokas pcbs arrive that'll be 6 boards and 9 combinations to test/repair. talk about masochism. i think i am gonna be a little :jester: by the time i've finished!

andykmv
15th February 2012, 07:48 PM
VIDEO Board 3, test 1
pulled ram 7B (TMM2016P-1, a 6116 like static ram) - cleaned legs a nd reinserted
pulled ram 8B (TMM2016P-1, a 6116 like static ram) - cleaned legs a nd reinserted
pulled ram 7C (TMM2016P-1, a 6116 like static ram) - cleaned legs a nd reinserted into 8C socket
pulled ram 8C (TMM2016P-1, a 6116 like static ram) - cleaned legs a nd reinserted into 7C socket
pulled ic 7A (custom 0776) cleaned legs and reinserted
pulled ic 9C (custom 0901) cleaned legs and reinserted

Note: ran the board with only 1 ram in 7B to see what happened, and got a nice clean regular pattern

powe ron with all ics reinserted:
no change


swapped 7B and 8B:
cleaner display, horizontal alternating white/black lines with ram22 error

a fe wquick reboots and got some colour.
back to the oringal cyan ram22 with alt horix cyan/black lines breaking up occassionally

pulled video board rom30 - signs of bent legs, straightenened, reinserted,

a lot of these sockets prob need replacing but not doin that yet.'

---------- Post added at 08:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 PM ----------

time to swap the video board

andykmv
15th February 2012, 08:20 PM
swapped the video board out and back.
swapped the ram from video board 3 with video board 2. no diff ,still ram error 22.
ok easy things checked time to look more closely for other dip rams on board the video board and ram bus logic/connections/ribbon cable ?

andykmv
20th February 2012, 07:49 PM
checked the PP manuals again, troubleshooting section. ram error 22 equates to faulty chip 5H on the namco video pcb.

checked the namco pp video pcb no 2 (VIDPCB2) and it wont boot at all, so i desoldered the 2114 ic from location 5H on that pcb. used the hand held vacuum desolder pump and the hot air rework station to remove the ic and clean the holes on VIDPCB2. took about 15-20 mins (i wouldnt make a commercial tech eh?). will reuse this 2114 IC to repair VIDPCB3.

andykmv
21st February 2012, 09:16 PM
desoldered the 2114 ic from location 5H on the VIDPCB3. inspected pcb and traces under the ic and looked ok. fitted a double wipe ic socket

Testing:
reinserted original ram ic - still got ram22 error
swapped ram ic with one from the vidpcb2 - still got ram22 error
swapped ram 4h with 5h - got a slightly different screen pattern with more colours. still got ram22 error though.

pics to get uploaded shortly.

andykmv
15th October 2014, 12:32 PM
ok dave, I finally found the thread again. Time to re-assemble the test rig using the foot pedals and steering wheel & gear shifter shown earlier in the thread - the switches and the old mouse quadrature encoder arent really easy to use- then i'll get started again on this repair job and see how far we can get with these two.

- - - Updated - - -

i have some 2114 ics coming in the mail this weekend so that will come in handy to check the aforementioned ram22 fault.