PDA

View Full Version : WHATS IN a TEST BENCH



Davefjedi
26th August 2006, 01:31 PM
OK peeps im starting with a blank bench and an old amiga 1084s monitor and a jamma harness and powersupply and have a heap of pc powersupplys, at and atx
i need input/pics of others benches to set mine up suggestions ect bench is 1.4 meters long 600 mm deep
all input apreciated
rembering im all new to this still dont realy know much about reparing boards but i want to start
dave

kramer
26th August 2006, 06:12 PM
thats a good start..

other things on mine are multimeter and soldering station / tools / alligator leads etc.

would like to mod the 1084s i've got to make the v hold / h hold external.

@lien_Zed
26th August 2006, 06:32 PM
an assortment of wires, plugs, connectors, multimeter (dmm) , good lighting as well like bright fluro .

an extandable arm with magnifiying glass on it so you can line it up to a board and have your hands free to work and look thru the mag glass and work on your stuff.

some decent wire cutters, wire strippers, soldering iron (variable temp. i suggest disk smith soldering iron), "helping hands" - get these at jaycar thay hare small adjustable clamps to hold wire and you can solder the wire and also has a small magnifying glass, saftey glasses - clear - wear thses when soldering,

hope this helps

kramer
26th August 2006, 11:46 PM
if you need a soldering station, jaycar has the ts1560 on special for $80. bargain price for a half decent one.

temp controlled.

rebadged hakko 936.

Davefjedi
27th August 2006, 01:30 PM
Ok update have a bench and made a shelf on top to put the monitor tools ect..
I am going to makeup a jamma test jig any info on this would go well also any info on how to connect the jamma to the 1084s mabe this thread can be modified by a mod into a general hdi setup a test bench thread
so far i have a solder station (variable temp) need a good solder sucker was thinking of useing a vacume cleaner under the bench with a foot switch for on off (im too tight to buy a propper one) need a jamma harness setup probably 2 player 3 buttons thinking of just useing the realy small red button momentry swiches from dick smiths will post a pic when the camera is charged

GameDude
27th August 2006, 06:54 PM
(im too tight to buy a propper one) need a jamma harness setup probably 2 player 3 buttons thinking of just useing the realy small red button momentry swiches from dick smiths will post a pic when the camera is charged

If you wanna kill more boards than fix... use a vacume, trust me.
If you wanna be tight and fix boards then you are starting of on the wrong foot.
If you are on a budget I recommend the GOOT desolder pumps from Jaycar, they last forever and have a good vacume volume they have two model, get the antistatic model for a few buck more.
ALso on the budget list, desolder braid, chip puller, heat gun, EEprom programmer (willem kit will do the job for all old boards), leaded solder, solder tip cleaner, logic probe, a descent light with magnifier 10x glass is good (dont go cheap plastic lenses), JAMMA harness is but one of the MANY harness you will need to make if you plan to repair Pre-Jamma Games.
PSU needs good power and easy adjustment for 5v.
The above with some luck and basic knowledge and schematics will allow you to fix maybe 50% game PCB out there...

I could list so much more DROOOL:118:
Over the years I have use the worst and worked my way to better equipment, If you want some help just ask me.

sneek
27th August 2006, 06:59 PM
Id like to know more about eprom programers...

Ive been thinking of getting one soon. Which are the best models and what kind of features would you look out of ?

GameDude
27th August 2006, 07:10 PM
Id like to know more about eprom programers...

Ive been thinking of getting one soon. Which are the best models and what kind of features would you look out of ?

The best model? Thats a hard question, they are so many. Stick to something that has web support and updates.
Cheap kit units like the willem will do the trick for most PCB from the 80's (maybe need one or two of the special adaptors for 40pin chips) I paid $100 buck for mine and the $50 for some adaptors, I use it to program PC BIOSs and EEproms (You will need a UV eraser as well BTW) My willem programmer is a few years old now but the software updates keep it up to date as much as practical and uses the LPT port.
Newer units use the USB port and are better for use in WinXP.
Most of them say the will support 1000's of ROM types, for arcade stuff its almost guaranteed it will be one of those chips, usually a list is provided on what is supported.
If you have money to burn go for a USB model with Auto sensing for the type of chips inserted, has a good supply of adaptors and good web support.

@lien_Zed
27th August 2006, 07:26 PM
Check this out
http://www.darkwire.com.au/

they have cool stuff
im not associated with them in anyway shape or form

Davefjedi
29th August 2006, 07:52 PM
ok so im makeing up my jamma spear or what ever you call them i have a powersuply and its all hooked up but it is not putting out the right voltage when i test the 5v and 12 v output with my multimeter do these things need a load on them before they start to out put or something
also brought some desoldering braid and a spring loaded solder sucker and a gas powered soldering iron as they were on spesh at dicksmiths 50 bucks :)
back to the power suply any thoughts i have tryed 2 and they both do the same thing:unsure

@lien_Zed
30th August 2006, 07:11 PM
depends on your power supply. some put out bugger all till a load is applied, others if unregulated will put out slightly more voltage then stated they will... but they will all output zero volts unless plugged in and switched on ;)

GameDude
30th August 2006, 08:17 PM
ok so im makeing up my jamma spear or what ever you call them i have a powersuply and its all hooked up but it is not putting out the right voltage when i test the 5v and 12 v output with my multimeter do these things need a load on them before they start to out put or something
also brought some desoldering braid and a spring loaded solder sucker and a gas powered soldering iron as they were on spesh at dicksmiths 50 bucks :)
back to the power suply any thoughts i have tryed 2 and they both do the same thing:unsure

Most powersupplies shut down with nothing connected, If you are worried that it is stuffed just plug in a dead PCB set the 5v pot to the lowest setting and turn it on.

You can also use a 1 ohm 50watt resistor, this should be roughly 5amps load on your PSU and set it from that.
Just a note however that you will be changing the 5v from time to time as each board draws different amounts, some more and some less... sometimes enough difference to make a board under test fail.

Also make sure the edge coinnector is thouroughly cleaned or you will find a bad connector causing problems as well (you see it every now and then on PCB with burnt edge connectors)
And when I say clean I dont mean with sandpaper or solder :x some ppl should be shot for that... I wont explain why here but I will tell you that the best way to clean an edge connector is with a plain old eraser and some isoproplyene afetr that will make it sparkle:D

@lien_Zed
30th August 2006, 09:18 PM
I wont explain why here but I will tell you that the best way to clean an edge connector is with a plain old eraser and some isoproplyene afetr that will make it sparkle:D



Absolutely.
you may find some edge connectors bloody filthy.
once upon a time you could buy an "ink eraser" they were grey in colour and had sand in them.this was before liquid paper came along.
dunno if you can get them. sometimes on realy crap surfaces you can use it first... *SPARINGLY* then use a standard white pencil eraser to clean up, then the ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL.
you can get the alsohol from most chemists/pharmacies if you ask.
they usually put you thru the third degree before selling you some and ask you all sorts of questions before they give you any.
i use it regularly.a 250 millilitre bottle costs me $10

GameDude
31st August 2006, 09:38 AM
*SPARINGLY* then use a standard white pencil eraser to clean up, then the ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL.
you can get the alsohol from most chemists/pharmacies if you ask.
they usually put you thru the third degree before selling you some and ask you all sorts of questions before they give you any.
i use it regularly.a 250 millilitre bottle costs me $10

Bunnings sells it in the paint section of the shelf no questions asked. I have seen it there a few times (Underwood Store)

@lien_Zed
31st August 2006, 11:31 AM
awseome!!!
thanks.next time im in bunnings i will check it out.
im getting tired of the chemists round here thinking im a terriost or something

Ric
31st August 2006, 11:42 AM
what the hell can you do with isopropyl alcohol?

bad vodka or metho is probably more explosive

Ric
31st August 2006, 02:00 PM
Here it what my test bench currently has

Old PC power supply - with push on/off switch - cost me $10

NEC Multisync monitor - this is from the 286 family purhcased back in 1987

Variable temp solder iron - sunkko - from WES electronics - absolutely beautiful - had been using Jaycar 25W and this blows it out of the water

GPE solder sucker/iron comobo - standard solder sucker mounted to an iron so basically you have one hand desoldering

eprom programmer - not yet set up a still trawling through 300 pages of manuals

Digital DMM

Logic probe - DSE

lotsa wire

pliers

open window - if you solder - you need ventilation

patience and time - hardest thing to find

The Pinny Parlour
31st August 2006, 04:01 PM
Here it what my test bench currently has

Old PC power supply - with push on/off switch - cost me $10

NEC Multisync monitor - this is from the 286 family purhcased back in 1987

Variable temp solder iron - sunkko - from WES electronics - absolutely beautiful - had been using Jaycar 25W and this blows it out of the water

GPE solder sucker/iron comobo - standard solder sucker mounted to an iron so basically you have one hand desoldering

eprom programmer - not yet set up a still trawling through 300 pages of manuals

Digital DMM

Logic probe - DSE

lotsa wire

pliers

open window - if you solder - you need ventilation

patience and time - hardest thing to find


Things to add:

1. Beer Fridge

2. Beer

3. pr0n and Beer

4. Shelf for stacking shit on

5. Bong (if your into that sort of thing)

6. Cuboard for growing your weed (if your into that sort of thing)

7. Beer

8. PC on the net with 9 HDD's all hooked up in some sort of exotic RAID

9. Bed

10. Telephone

11. Beer

12. Second pair of pliers (for when you can't find your first pair)

13. Spare PC that has dust on it and fired up now and then for who know what reason other than it's cool to have 2 PC's

Ric
31st August 2006, 04:25 PM
i agree with the beer

all other parts are not necessary for a test bench - an ashram however...

Davefjedi
31st August 2006, 04:49 PM
have beer in keg (homebrew) heaps of porn on my pc in the house (networked to the shed 3 pc`s in shed I must be super cool) pliers i can never find any when i need them raid the mrs nail kit for tweezers :D

The Pinny Parlour
31st August 2006, 08:01 PM
Of course everythng I said was just utter crap. Was bored at work. :confused:

GameDude
1st September 2006, 07:46 AM
Things NOT to add:

1. COKE

2. ALCOHOL

3. BUDDIES

:lol

@lien_Zed
4th September 2006, 09:01 PM
have beer in keg (homebrew) heaps of porn on my pc in the house (networked to the shed 3 pc`s in shed I must be super cool) pliers i can never find any when i need them raid the mrs nail kit for tweezers :D


Mmmm.... i dunno if i must be super cool or a super nerd or just a collector,but i have got 7 pcs and all of them work and at my feet.
And i have in storage about 7 Tandy Colour Computers (8-bit machines) including my first one, a Tandy Colour Computer one that was 16k bought in 1982 that Dad and i upgraded to 64k in 1984!

Davefjedi
5th September 2006, 10:44 AM
ok im looking for wireing for my amiga monitor the documents i have found are conflicting can anyone shed some light please
amiga 1084s monitor

kramer
5th September 2006, 11:23 AM
your voltage will drop from a pc power supply, as power is consumed.
if the voltages aren't up to scratch to start with then they'll be worse later when you're running the board.

change power supply. or grab an arcade power supply, with the adjustable 5volt.

Prof
5th September 2006, 11:23 AM
As for the psu no load thing, use a 6v buld and wire it into th +5v. a 3w bulb is plenty

Same for the 12v



Working computers, lets see

Vic20,C64,C128,3 Amiga 500's, System 80 Blue Label

Nerdy Enough??

kramer
5th September 2006, 11:24 AM
analogue...
http://pinouts.ru/Video/C1084a_pinout.shtml

digital...
http://pinouts.ru/Video/C1084D_pinout.shtml

these pinouts are correct, i use them myself.

Daring33
9th September 2006, 02:30 PM
Absolutely.
you may find some edge connectors bloody filthy.
once upon a time you could buy an "ink eraser" they were grey in colour and had sand in them.this was before liquid paper came along.
dunno if you can get them. sometimes on realy crap surfaces you can use it first... *SPARINGLY* then use a standard white pencil eraser to clean up, then the ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL.
you can get the alsohol from most chemists/pharmacies if you ask.
they usually put you thru the third degree before selling you some and ask you all sorts of questions before they give you any.
i use it regularly.a 250 millilitre bottle costs me $10


Years ago I did a course and we needed ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL to clean the heads on some tape machines, I was told to go to the chemist and get some.
Bloody hell did I get the third degree, the assistant actually got the chemist over and he proceded to interogate me on what I needed it for. I finally got a little bottle, which I still have, but your post reminded me of that time. I wonder what they thought I was going to use it for?

Recently I got a pinball and alot of people were talking about using ISO and magic erasers etc and I thought oh shit I will have to go through all of that trouble again to get hold of some, luckily while poking about at Dick Smiths I found a large bottle of the stuff and no questions asked!

Burra749
10th October 2006, 12:03 PM
Isopropyl Alcohol is used in the process of converting Weed into Hash Oil.
Thats why they give you a hard time getting it. :033:

@lien_Zed
10th October 2006, 12:50 PM
Well there you go.

Learn something new everyday!
I never knew that!

Daring33
11th October 2006, 11:11 AM
Wow neither did I. Thanks for the info, I thought he looked at me funny!