PDA

View Full Version : Street fighter wired jamma cabinet conversion to street fighter 2



meossanon
23rd August 2006, 03:51 AM
Greetings all video gaming gurus! This is my first post so please bear with me... I am so excited that I finally have an arcade upright, after all those years pumping quarters I can now play at home. Now the games have a different affect after being spoiled with the new game consoles that are on the market these days but anyway there is still gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling.

The cabinet that I have is a Street Fighter, Capcom. The original board and components it seems... Although I appreciate the first street fighter, I decided to replace the board with a street fighter 2. The street fighter 2 board seems to run well except for the sound. Now, the original board has the jamma connector and two small connectors plugging left (4 pins) and right (3 pins) of the jamma connector. I trace the right wires to the speakers and I think the other might be leading to the coin intake because I could not add credits to the game manually.

The street fighter 2 pcb has a connector for the 3 pin connector on the bottom board and is labelled the same as on the original street fighter board. The other 4 pin connector does not seem to fit anywhere...

I really want to play it with the full effect! Any help will be very appreciated. I did search the forum before posting so I would not upset anyone.

Also...

I would like to connect my NBA Jam also correctly as I am getting the same results, any help with the conversion will also be totally appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Regards,

Sebastien

The original cabinet with Street Fighter was not wired with a pot or so it seems, I did buy one because the NBA jam sound card will need it. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Regards,

Sebastien

sneek
23rd August 2006, 10:06 AM
Hi welcome to the forum :D

Did the original board have sound ?

Depending on the cabinet there can be hidden volume pots in them... usually inside near the front door.

Also there is also a volume pot on CPS1 boards (of which your SF2 is)... if it came from an operator the odds are that its turned right down. Its the only white pot on the pcb... near the jamma connector.

Id be checking that before any wiring.

GameDude
23rd August 2006, 11:18 AM
yeah,
what you have are whats called JAMMA+ games.
The original JAMMA connector supports 3 buttons officially, any extra buttons or players were handled by an extra plug or socket.
On SF1 its different to SF2 and you will need to make a new 'kick harness' for it.
As for the sound SF1 has a pot on the board for volume and your cabinet *may* have a extra volume pot.
SF2 has the volume pot on the game and works pretty much the same way.

JAMMA and JAMMA+ games use the same main connector 56pin so there should be no modification needed except for a new kick harness.:D

meossanon
24th August 2006, 01:16 AM
Sneek, the original board has sound and I did not know there was a volume pot on the board, I will look for it. I did see the volume pot on the sf2 pcb. Does that mean that the speakers connect directly to the jamma connector and volume controled by the pcb onboard pot?

Dorian, the new kick harness you talk about, do you mean that I need to change the leads from the control panel to the jamma connector? I imagined the six button configured for sf1 would match the sf2...

I really appreciate the help you are providing.

BTW

I will always be posting when you guys are sleeping as I am located in Canada!

Cheers

kramer
24th August 2006, 01:30 AM
the extra buttons dont goto the jamma connector mate,
they go to a seperate harness on the board.
and the board should have sound adjustment on it iirc.

sneek
24th August 2006, 01:55 AM
Sneek, the original board has sound and I did not know there was a volume pot on the board, I will look for it. I did see the volume pot on the sf2 pcb. Does that mean that the speakers connect directly to the jamma connector and volume controled by the pcb onboard pot?

Yeap... some boards have pots some don't... there are 2 speaker lines on a jamma harness +/- however i think there are also 2 extra lines as some boards can have stereo, these lines are treated as standard audio and can be taken to any kind of sound setup in your cabinet (kind of varies from cabinet to cabinet)

If the sound worked before id try adjusting the volume pot on the sf2 and see what happens. If that fails check the wiring of the jamma harness to make sure its standard... something tells me that sf1 might not be standard jamma spec.


Dorian, the new kick harness you talk about, do you mean that I need to change the leads from the control panel to the jamma connector? I imagined the six button configured for sf1 would match the sf2...

Kick harness and Jamma harness are different. The kick harness caters for the extra 6 buttons (3 kicks on both sides). It goes from the cpo to the board.

What i do is have a standard molex plug inbetween and make sort of custom fly leads to allow me to change the harness without rewiring the cpo. There are a fair few of them... sf1, cps1, cps2/3, mk1 and 2, 3/4 players... off the top of my head. So its worth taking the time in doing so.

Looks like sf1 uses the spare 4 wires on the jamma harness (not standard) to get 4 of the kicks... lk,mk for both players and runs the last 2 off the board.

BTW... im a night owl so i might not be asleep :D

GameDude
24th August 2006, 08:03 AM
Dorian, the new kick harness you talk about, do you mean that I need to change the leads from the control panel to the jamma connector? I imagined the six button configured for sf1 would match the sf2...

I really appreciate the help you are providing.

BTW

I will always be posting when you guys are sleeping as I am located in Canada!

Cheers

Yes, SF1 - SF2 and all the later SF based on CPS2 hardware all use a kick harness with a different connector

KLOV has the manual for the game you want to install
http://www.klov.com/game_detail.php?game_id=9814&letter=S

On the small top board of your SF2 you will see some pins, one set of these is for all the kick buttons in the game.
The JAMMA harness itself only carries the punch buttons for player 1 and 2.

As for the sound it should work without any modifications, on your SF1 you will probably see 2 white pots near 2 big heatsinks on originals only, bootlegs have no heatsink these are the volume controls. On SF2 its the same except its one volume control.

So... All you need to do to use the new game is make a 'kick harness', you can even solder the wires on the buttons and leave the old wiring for SF1 there so you can swap back when you want.

meossanon
25th August 2006, 03:10 AM
Thank you my aussie friends...

I mapped the jamma connector leads to the components and found the speakers were not connected to L 10. I now have sound. I tested with P.O.W got sound, sf2 got sound (I will build my kick harness). NBA jam works well except I think I reversed the pot connections because the sound is either loud or louder.

Quick question gents... The NBA jam needs a new cmos battery the size of a quarter, are those available at your friendly neighborhood electronic store?

GameDude
25th August 2006, 01:06 PM
Thank you my aussie friends...

Quick question gents... The NBA jam needs a new cmos battery the size of a quarter, are those available at your friendly neighborhood electronic store?

yup

WOKA
25th August 2006, 10:11 PM
Sneek, the original board has sound and I did not know there was a volume pot on the board, I will look for it. I did see the volume pot on the sf2 pcb. Does that mean that the speakers connect directly to the jamma connector and volume controled by the pcb onboard pot?

Dorian, the new kick harness you talk about, do you mean that I need to change the leads from the control panel to the jamma connector? I imagined the six button configured for sf1 would match the sf2...

I really appreciate the help you are providing.

BTW

I will always be posting when you guys are sleeping as I am located in Canada!

Cheers


Welcome..! I figured you were from Kanuk Land - seem pretty friendly and we don't have 'quarters'..! How did you stumble across the site..?


Enjoy..!


W.

meossanon
26th August 2006, 01:33 AM
I was looking for answers around the web and came across your site. My packets reach Australia in miliseconds so you guys are not that far! I am glad I did because you guys are helpfull and friendly.

Cheers

sneek
26th August 2006, 09:55 AM
:D

You will find we are a friendly bunch.

Hope you enjoy the rest of the site...